We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Shady Spot on a Hot Day”
Review of Coker Arboretum

Coker Arboretum
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Nice Shady Spot on a Hot Day”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It's actually a great little spot with interesting trees, shrubs and flowers. I frequently walk through it as I cross campus to a baseball or football game, but it's an "if you're in the area" kind of place. Not worth a special trip, but if you're walking around campus, don't miss it.

College kids hang out here and study on nice weekends. It's pretty and tranquil, and I'm sure quite special to alumni.

All the plants are labelled and there are a few real surprises. Just another lovely spot on a beautiful campus.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Loved this 40 years ago, even better now. Many specimens and benches for rest and relaxation. Romantic

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vwaldrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“While at UNC Visit Coker Arboretum”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Recently my wife and I celebrated our 50th Anniversary, and chose to spend our time in Chapel Hill. The first places we visited was the Coker Arboretum, and this proved to be the highlight of the trip. If you are interested in taking leisurely walks, and enjoy plants, trees, and shrubbery, the Coker Arboretum is an excellent place to visit while in the Chapel Hill area. The plantings have good signage so that you can know what you're viewing. Especially interesting to us were the bald cypress trees and the Norwegian and Japanese pines. While the Arboretum isn't huge, you can spend a good couple of hours there and leave better informed about the vegetation around you that often goes unnoticed. We plan to visit it again soon. And best of all - it is free!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank frankhamrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

You must see the Walter Pine it is a wonderful conifer. Nice walking paths. Everything is labeled.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank homeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well marked trees, excellent collection!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The well marked trees! Loved the chipmunks that ran past us on the way out. Also, lots of entertaining squirrels!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank RMarshall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coker Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Coker Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing