We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific soups and chowders, sandwiches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nantucket Cafe & Grill

Nantucket Cafe & Grill
Ranked #21 of 285 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Soups, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrific soups and chowders, sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Exceptionally fresh ingredients. Excellent clam chowder, lobster bisque, lovely salads, and mammoth sandwiches.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Michelle21620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    87
    28
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and value, but noisy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We ate here for the first time on 10/13/11. I had fried scallops and clams, while my wife had scallops shishkabob. We (obviously) love scallops, but they're usually very expensive. My platter was less than $16. One of the things we liked best was that many dishes including desserts were available in half-sizes. My wife's was less than $11. Both prices are real bargains. We didn't have room for dessert, but the display case was mouth-watering and I heard good things about it. On the negative side, there is less than zero atmosphere. No decor, very noisy, no view (a parking lot). Concrete floors and all hard surfaces make this one of the LOUDEST restaurants I've ever been in, and thank goodness it wasn't totally full. Service was just ok. Fix the atmosphere and I'd give it a full 5 rating.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tqmbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Regular destination for Friday night friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

My friends and I have a Friday Night Out group. We circulate amongst many different Triangle restaurants sampling new fare and old favorites.

Nantucket is a steady option in our rotation. We typically spend one Friday night here every three months. The food is consistently good, the cakes/desserts are always a treat, and the atmosphere is casual and enjoyable.

The best thing is the menu which is sizable and provides a strong set of choices. Whatever mood we are in, all of us can find something to enjoy.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charlierdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

I have dined at Nantucket several times in the past. Although the decor is spartan and the service may occasionally leave something to be desired, the food is excellent. Also, bottles of wine are half price on Wednesdays. I would recommend this restaurant to business travellers or families who are looking for a comfortable restaurant with great food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices and good dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We ate at the Newport twice during our stay in the area. The menu had a good range of selections, the pricing was reasonable and the food good. Our servers did a great job handling the somewhat large group. The dessert portions were generous - two people can get by with a half order. The Newport was conveniently located near the Hampton and Holiday Inn. However found it safer to drive across the busy intersection than to walk over.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Westolytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nantucket Cafe & Grill also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Nantucket Cafe & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing