We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We travel with a group of 40 people and Nicole Smith and Aleisha Dixon made sure our group was well taken care of! They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was a great one. We will definitely be coming back to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    122
    54
    18
    11
See reviews for
126
47
22
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Platteville, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Thank-you, Kavita, Tega, and Tierene. Everything was perfect during the week I spent with you. I was on a business trip and you were all so helpful. Your service is top notch!
The rooms are fabulous, the bar is cozy and fun, and the little restaurant has a lot to off.
Thanks! Julee A.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a king suite which was great for a family of four. Hotel is very well maintained and rooms are public areas are quite nice. Location, while not downtown is very good on 54 across the street from Meadowmont. You can get to Franklin Street and campus quite quickly. Service was very good except for the cleaning lady which did a so so job cleaningup the room a couple of times.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SPCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I travel to Chapel Hill very often for business and stay for a week. This hotel makes me feel at home, it's warm, clean, has a little breakfast cafeteria that offers Starbucks coffee, an indoor pool, The staff is extremely polite and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and even if it's not downtown it's close to everything..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Carolina Inn was full, so tried here. A very nice hotel a bit out of the city. Interesting lobby and very comfortable rooms.

A few things I didn’t like. Considering the distance to UNC or Franklin Street, I had hoped that the hotel would have a courtesy van for a 5 minute drive. Especially that this a one destination town. No van (and I can live with that), but two employees told me separately that they didn’t have a courtesy van because the bus service into town is so good. Strange to get that answer from two different people. Sounds like a company line. Also, and maybe I am the exception, but I find that people who stay at the Marriott don’t ride the bus. Yes, I could drive to Franklin street, but parking can be challenging and the lighting on Rosemary Street can be a bit dim. Having some of the residents of the men’s shelter nearby idling about doesn’t help. Marriott, if you love your guests, try the courtesy van for a while and see how it goes.

The hotel isn’t sign-posted very well. Just a small sign in some bushes that you don’t see until you are past it. Impossible to anticipate a turn unless you know where it is. And once you turn into the “neighborhood”, there aren’t any signs that say Marriott. Only a few very small signs with the Marriott colors. You can see the building, but without any signs, you can’t be sure it’s the hotel until you are inside.

The front desk was VERY slow. There were two ladies, but one kept wandering away and the other battled with her computer. They were both very nice and dealt with requests, but it took a long time. Also when asking for them to call a taxi, they had to look up the number on the internet and it took 5 minutes for them to finally talk to a taxi company. Also, front desk didn’t know the cost of a taxi to Franklin Street.

Unfortunately, when leaving my bill included breakfast from the previous guest the day of our check in. Although we arrived at the hotel at 17:15, there was a breakfast charge for the same day. It took a while to resolve this and while nothing was actually said, they did look at me as if I was trying to avoid a legitimate charge. Didn’t like the obvious bill error or the suspicious way I was eyed.

There was a large gap under the door that would bring the hallway noise inside, but I had a room at the end of the hallway so I can’t complain.


Now that I know where the hotel is, I would return. Maybe the front desk was a trainee and a one-off. To have a courtesy van instead of needing a car would be a big plus. Nice place with a good price and not far from the action.

Room Tip: Quiet room away from elevator and ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Noisy, paper thin walls. The elevator kept us up all night on 2nd floor. Screaming and hollering guests past 1:30AM on a Thursday night. Resumed again by 6:30AM following morning. The staff has no capacity or interest to ensure the quiet and peaceful enjoyment of the remainder of their guests. This hotel is not the place to get a decent nights rest. We had two rooms. We will be returning to Chapel Hill often and will stay elsewhere. Sleep here (try) at your own risk. Rooms were not ready at check-in time. It was past 4:00PM before we could check in.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aloha37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My recent stay at this hotel was for a conference at UNC. I found the hotel to be in a decent location, however you require a vehicle if your business takes you in to downtown Chapel Hill. The hotel is off the main highway into town, and thus is easily accessible if you wish to visit nearby towns. Room was clean and comfortable, but nothing special. Doors are quite thin so anyone walking and talking in the hallway can be heard easily in your room. I was grumpy to find that the cleaning staff accidentally disposed of my tea strainer one morning. Though I understand this was unintentional, the hotel staff was not very helpful in rectifying the matter and offered no compensation. I found the temperature in the room difficult to control, though I have to admit I did not ask staff for assistance with this. Most staff were friendly however the two women working at the meal bar were rather stressed and need a lesson or two in customer service.
Front desk staff overall was friendly, but not overly helpful.
Business centre is small but efficient (only two computers, free printing though)
Pool was closed during our stay. Gym was very small and slightly dreary.
The hotel is slightly above average, and a little more attention to customer service would improve things greatly.

Overall Chapel Hill was quite cute. Not sure there are an abundance of options that would be all that much better though. Not disappointed, but not hugely impressed either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crpedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.4 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
471 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,326 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
447 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chapel Hill

Property: Courtyard Chapel Hill
Address: 100 Marriott Way, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-7100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#8 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Courtyard
Chapel Hill Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing