We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the Triangle, but not like Kansas City Vietnamese!”

Lime and Basil Vietnamese
Ranked #71 of 289 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very good for the Triangle, but not like Kansas City Vietnamese!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went here one friday evening. there were people waiting to dine when the doors opened. The restaurant filled up quickly. I had the Saigon street noodle dish. I had described what I wanted to the waiter in hopes of replicating the dishes served at several Vietnamese restaurants in Kansas City, MO. It was satisfactory, but not the same ingredients, taste or seasonings. One of our party got a seafood soup bowl. He liked it very much. We probably will return, but knowing that they do not replicate other vietnamese restaurant foods from the KCMO.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    37
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Noodle Soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you looking for great noodles this is a great place to have it. The portions are big: the broth, the noodles and the meats are generous. We had a variety chicken, beef and seafood pho and they were all very good. The place is simple and basic, you just go there for good noodles.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrasipBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
356 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Authentic Viet Namese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Variety of authentic Viet Namese food on the menu. Fresh and well prepared. No need to travel to NYC or San Francisco to get your meal anymore! Modest prices for great food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhilViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Went to Lime and Basil with a Vietnamese friend, who had recommended it. My husband and I had never had Vietnamese food before. We though it was delish. Our friend confirmed that it was delish -- and authentic, as well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The food was OK, but the manager on duty was surly and dismissive. The server attempted to offset the manager's contempt for customers and the restaurant's discouraging policies, but the unpleasant atmosphere made eating difficult. I will never return to this eatery, and I will discourage others from trying it until it comes under new management.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lime and Basil Vietnamese also viewed

 

Been to Lime and Basil Vietnamese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing