We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good southern comfort food”
Review of Mama Dip's

Mama Dip's
Ranked #35 of 292 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Mooresville, NC USA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good southern comfort food”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy, just good basic southern comfort soul food. Try the fried chicken and any of the delectable sides. I recommend the fried okra.

Helpful?
Thank marklclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    101
    92
    42
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southeastern, NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It's pretty good”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Being from the south and I cook southern food a whole lot; I found it just kind of bland for southern cuisine. The chicken and pastry that I ordered was cooked with boneless skinless chicken breast which to me just doesn't have any flavor. Other than that it was pretty good. I would highly recommend this restaurant to someone who did not grow up in the South. The service is outstanding though and it has a good ole southern atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UnbiasedTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberlake, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food... atmosphere LOUD!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went to Mama Dip's for the first time and just loved the food!! Service was good, but our waiter may have been new. A group of women arrived about 1/2 through our meal and they got obnoxiously LOUD!! We commented THREE times to our waiter about the loud volume. Looking around the restaurant was quickly emptying. Our take out box did not arrive so we took the basket of yummy sweet tater biscuits to the counter and were all but ignored. Finally I got someone's attention and received a box into which I put our leftovers. Our check never arrived so we approached cash register. The loud group was mentioned to which the owner's niece responded that we should have come to get her about the situation. WHAT?? We paid and left feeling we most likely had paid for someone else's food too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average Southern Food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had high expectations since a foodie highly recommended this restaurant. My initial thought as a southerner was that I definitely cook better fried chicken, turnips, and macaroni and cheese at home. The side items portion sizes were small compared to the price. The chicken and dumplings were delicious.

Would I return? Maybe - We may need to go back to try some other menu items.

Friendly staff was very attentive - the restaurant is not fancy at all but appeared to be clean.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ftwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Sweet Potato Biscuits!!!!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

While we were in the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area, we visited Mama Dips. It is the best southern soul food we've had. We went for breakfast one morning and I had the fried catfish, grits and eggs with sweet potato biscuits. It was the best for just pennies for what you get. Just outstanding. We enjoyed the biscuits so much we went back the next day before we headed home for more. This time, I had barbecue chicken, mac and cheese with fried squash and some more of those sweet potato biscuits. Trust me, you won't go wrong eating there. Also, you may be able to meet Mama Dip in person. We did...what an added treat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robinmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Dip's also viewed

 

Been to Mama Dip's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing