We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't get this in Las Vegas! yummmmmm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama Dip's

Mama Dip's
Ranked #32 of 289 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Can't get this in Las Vegas! yummmmmm”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

As many good restaurants as there are at home in Vegas, we couldn't wait to try some real southern home cooking. The Chapel Hill visitors center recommended Mama Dip's and we were totally satisfied. I don't order fried chicken anymore, because no one seems to know how to cook it. This was perfect: so tasty and tender. The veggies tasted like they were picked from a garden that morning. We had a wonderful peach cobbler for dessert. Just right. Thank you Mama Dip and family!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueSkies7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    99
    90
    41
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wow! I had heard about Mama Dip's but never got a chance to eat there until recently. What a gem. If you are looking for some well priced and well seasoned comfort food, you can't go wrong with Mama Dip's. I can't wait to go back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harlemstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good Fried Chicken and Berry Cobbler”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our hotel recommended Mama Dip's for local southern cooking. We loved the fried chicken, mac and cheese and blackberry cobbler. Johnny, our server from Mississippi, helped us to decide what to order and made the experience very fun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank baileyfirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugspur, Virginia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good comfort food, great for a group”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a party of 8 in town for graduation. We arrived as a few people were leaving and parking in the limited space opened. The place was crowded but we were seated promptly and received good service.
We sampled a variety of dishes including beef liver, chicken fried steak, fried chicken and salmon cakes. Well prepared, the batters were crisp and tasty. A few ordered the catfish gumbo which was delicious. An order of fried green tomatoes and other sides were tasty.
Overall the entire group was well pleased. An excellent assortment of tasty comfort food. Service was excellent-our server was graduating the next day. We would return for a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueridgeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
150 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fried Broccoli and Cheese - yummmmm”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

PROS: Good/okay food. Great staff.

CONS: PRICE - good lord it's expensive, especially for the quality. Not enough parking.

Our family of 4 adults had dinner at Mama Dip's. It was a surprise to find this style of restaurant - down home southern comfort food - in a college town like Chapel HIll. The outside looks like a nice house with a big porch. Not much parking - good luck. Inside is clean but has a bit of a "cafeteria" feel to it. Greeters at the register were friendly and smiling. Waitress was SUPER GOOD - attentive, sweet, funny. Tables and booth tables are LOW - like really low. I hate restaurants with low tables where you feel like you have to hunch over so you don't act like a crane to get your food to your mouth.

Anyway...we went on a Friday night. We called ahead and though they do take reservations, they said they had room. We were seated immediately though they were busy. It's bigger on the inside than it looks. We all ordered cold tea - which was light and refreshing.

Appetizers were the sampler platter and fried pickles. The sampler platter had hushpuppies (light and yummy, not greasy; fried green tomatoes (I usually do NOT like them, but these were good); fried zucchini (good); and fried broccoli and cheese nuggets (YUMMMMMO! This is comfort food, NOT HEALTH FOOD, so have fun while there and don't judge all the fried food. This was reallllly good.). The waitress came out and told us they had run out of fried pickles but they had 3 left and they gave them to us for free. Fried pickles were dill, cut into spears. I prefer sliced pickles, but they were okay. They were SPICEY HOT, and we were NOT expecting that.

As it was Friday, it was seafood night so they had some seafood specials not on the menu. Two of our party got the combo platter that came with fried catfish, oysters and shrimp. You get 2 sides with entrees. We'll talk about those in a minute. My hubby got the ribs and I got the flounder fillet plate.

Fried catfish was a WHOLE fish - my mother-in-law did not like it - she hates the bones. I don't like whole fish either - prefer fillets. It was okay she said.

Oysters - delicious.

Shrimp - good.

Ribs - great. Very tender.

Flounder - good, but the breading was a bit bland.

Sides we tried:

Baked Apples - bland, not tender. Granny smith apples - not a favorite.

Mac and Cheese - mehhh. Ok, but nothing special. Skip it.

Fries - YUKKKKKK - soggy, no flavor. Left them on the plate.

Okra and Tomatoes - ok, a bit "fibery" and "sticky" according to my father in law. Sounds gross to me.

We did have dessert. What we tried:

Cake and ice cream - cake not moist but was good. Good vanilla ice cream.

Blackberry cobbler - good

Sweet potato pie - mehhh

So yes, we WILL go back, but watch the prices - for 4 of us, including taxes and tip, it was well over $135!!!!!!! Whaaaaaat???? The place was packed though - so people obviously like it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa_October
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Dip's also viewed

 

Been to Mama Dip's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing