We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to eat”
Review of Carolina Brewery

Carolina Brewery
Ranked #32 of 289 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fun place to eat”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Chapel Hill has many of these types of places to eat. Haven't found a "wow" eating experience yet though. Carolina Brewery was able to sit our group of 10 easily, service was good, beer selection above average and food was 'fine'.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    59
    28
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice campus pub in Chapel Hill”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stopped by the Carolina Brewery......had a chance to enjoy sitting outside. Had a good selection of home brews. Not a large variety, but very good options. Just had appetizers. However, they have an extensive menu. Worth visiting when you're in the area. If the weather's nice, sit outside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wish it was closer”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent food! Great service. We're not beer drinkers and we'll still go back - just for the food. Try to go while the students are away to avoid the wait times.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Beer but a bit overpriced”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This bar is walking distance from my house and I enjoy going here. The food used to suck but they have done a lot of improvements and now the burgers are a pretty good bang for your buck. In my opinion though their pizza and wings are overpriced and there are better places to get nachos in Chapel Hill. Be careful which beers you order, I ordered a couple beers which ended up being $6 dollars a pint. So great place, although half their menu seems overpriced and you can get price gouged if you are not careful. I also wish they had more TVs but is not really a sportsbar I guess... 4/5 from me

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seanx820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Must have the spring rolls!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The food at Carolina Brewery is good. So is the beer. But, the one thing they have on the menu that I actually crave are the pork and collard spring rolls. I wish I lived closer so I could get them more often.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mooseehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing