We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different from the usual BBQ place but, FANTASTIC!”
Review of The Pig

The Pig
Ranked #26 of 296 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Garner, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Different from the usual BBQ place but, FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I thought the food was outstanding here! I loved the meat and the vegetables that I had. It is not the traditional bbq hole in the wall type place that I am used to but, the food is so good. No one would be dissapointed with their pork or brisket. The fried okra and macaroni was about the best I ever had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    56
    19
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“BBQ for Vegetarians and Us Carnivores”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our daughter, the vegetarian had heard about this restaurant which she could also enjoy with us. She and our grandson had tempeh, French fries, cucumber salad and hush puppies. Guy and I enjoyed the pulled pork sandwich on a roll, with the cucumber salad, and shared a very delicious spicy potato salad. A nice selection of beers and fountain drinks were available. They do catering, and bulk amounts of meat can be purchased. Another time I would try some other of their choices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MartiAbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern, NC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“They have very good barbeque - homemade pickles are great”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have dined here about three times. The barbeque and sides are excellent. The homemade fresh pickled cucumbers are unique to this business and they are delicious. The service is very good and our server was friendly and helpful. It is located in a remote area in Chapel Hill so it is relaxing to go here. I also like the rock music they play in the background. Also next door is an International variety/grocery store that is very calming and interesting to visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UnbiasedTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Go to The Pig, but maybe don't call it BBQ.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Locally sourced pork and lots of house made elements (pickles, bacon, hot dogs, beans) upgraded this casual little restaurant. Menu was very interesting with Vietnamese sandwich, po boy's, fried chicken as well as shiitake and tempeh choices. My husband and I ordered traditional though- pulled pork sandwich and brisket sandwich and they were fine but not upper echelon nc BBQ. And to be fair- they didn't claim to be, but he and I debated long and hard about Cuban type pulled pork vs nc bbq. We would definitely go back but likely order other things.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 24112QGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldron, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Different but good”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We ordered the pork "BBQ" to go. It was not what I expected but I loved it! I have been craving it ever since. The slaw was different too - maybe had more carrots in it than usual? It looks sort of orange, but it is tasty. I will go back when I'm in Chapel Hill again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing