We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue for parties and receptions”

Top of the Hill Restaurant & Brewery
Ranked #4 of 293 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Whether you live in Chapel Hill, are just visiting or are here to connect to your college roots, Top of the Hill – or TOPO as we have come to be known – is a destination spot. Our menu is loaded with locally-sourced ingredients, our acclaimed beer collection is brewed right on site, and our outdoor deck boasts a panoramic view of downtown. Rounding out the offerings are our event spaces that can host any occasion you can dream up. And, oh yeah, did we mention we now make our own spirits? That's right. It's all here at the top. Come join us.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good venue for parties and receptions”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We attended a reception dinner here. The layout is excellent as it can be broken out for smaller gatherings or used, as in this instance, to separate kids from adults during dinner.

Food was excellent - some of the best fried chicken anywhere - hot crisp, not too salty seasoning, and moist in side. also enjoyed salmon with horseradish, although leaving salmon in a chafing dish invariably dries it out a bit. excellent mac-n-cheese with toasty breadcrumb topping. Good Caesar salad.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AEBlumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    256
    118
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top of the Hill is top-of-the-line”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

To me, it seems, any consideration of Top of the Hill must begin with its location -- quite literally at the top of the hill that gave Chapel Hill its name. Where that hill was, a hill that once was home to an Anglican chapel-of-ease, the Carolina Inn now stands; and one block up, across Columbia Street from the Carolina Inn, sits the Top of the Hill restaurant and brewery. Occupying a delightful third-floor location atop a building at the southeast corner of Franklin and Columbia, Top of the Hill is a central gathering place for Chapel Hill residents, University of North Carolina students and faculty, and visitors from all over.

The restaurant has a bright, open look, with big windows looking to the outside. There's a big circular bar at the center of the main dining room. If the weather is fine, I recommend that you sit outside and watch the social scene of Chapel Hill go by, three stories below. (If it's Halloween, or if the Tar Heels have won an important basketball game, particularly against Duke or N.C. State, the social scene that you behold below you may be rather chaotic.)

The food is quite good. I particularly like the grit cakes with shrimp -- a Southern-flair testimonial to the freshness and excellence of North Carolina seafood. Also good are the "Thumbs & Toes" (buffalo-wing-style chicken tenders drenched in barbecue sauce) and the pulled-pork barbecue sandwich with cole slaw on top.

The wait staff consists overwhelmingly of UNC students, and most of them display the professionalism characteristic of young people attending one of America's greatest universities. On one occasion, the young man waiting on us seemed to have forgotten about us, to the point that I had to call out to him to get him to come to the table; but perhaps that was an aberration.

Top of the Hill is an institution in Chapel Hill, and no trip to the town that is proud to call itself home to the University of North Carolina is complete without a visit to Top of the Hill. Walk along Columbia to the unobtrusive side entrance, take the elevator up to the third floor, and enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GettysburgPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Top of the Hill”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent service, friendly and helpful. Food was quite good. Our waitress was a real treat, funny and gave a good review of the menu options and suggestions for drinks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soulpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Wheat Beer”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Me and the wife ate here dec 31 st before the unc game i had the beer slow cooked beef she had the shrimp geoccie both of our dish's were very good or service was fast and good or server was outstanding tip the appetizers are very big so only get one if theres only two people lol the french onion soup is amazing very cheesy and good there's cheaper places but this place is very good there house made wheat beer was very good i like blue moon and its better than that and its 5 bucks a glass cant beat that all in all a great place to eat and get ready for the games.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Famous place and glad we tried it.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

A Chapel Hill "must visit" restaurant. We stopped for lunch. Pork sandwich was excellent as was the tuna steak sandwich. Harvey was our server - very professional although somehow our appetizer got left behind and we had to remind him about it after they brought out our meals. The bar is big and would be a fun place to try a few of the beers from the brewery on site. Will definitely try that the next time we are in the area. Plenty of seating indoors and out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Hill Restaurant & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Hill Restaurant & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing