We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch place”

Crossroads Chapel Hill
Reserve with OpenTable
Crossroads Chapel Hill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 292 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Columbia Avenue
Description: Enjoy Southern Soul and Carolina Spirit on every plate. Nestled in the historic Carolina Inn you'll find the new Crossroads Chapel Hill, serving authentic Carolina cuisine prepared from regionally sourced ingredients. Relax at the expanded bar then enjoy dinner inside, or choose to dine outside near the fire pit, soothed by the soft music of a breeze slipping through the towering oak trees. Make a reservation now and get ready for a crafted dining experience.
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great lunch place”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We ate here at lunch - there is a lunch menu with a range of choices from sandwiches and soup to meals (about 20 choices) - all looked good as they passed our table and the bisque was excellent. Deserts were good too. (Also the cocktails - try the cosmopolitans)

Friendly wait staff and a very interesting building with information about its history lining the hallway on the approach to the restaurant - so arrive before your reservation or you'll end up late!

We were told the evening menu is just as good - all food is the choice of the chef, always a good sign!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leytonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    45
    23
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“wonderful location”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Absolutely typical of a college place to take faculty. Every campus has one. We had hoped for more--the organic, locally sourced and sustainable food mission is one we support. The food was good but not great, and since we opted for the full lunch buffet, there were many choices. The price is excellent, at $16.50, which includes hot foods. The Carolina Inn is lovely and the restaurant is really pleasant, parking included. The real surprise was the lackluster service. It was polite but sporadic. If I had only one lunch in Chapel Hill, I would want it here, but more for the location than the dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyandbob_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill nc
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Only Quiet Restaurant In Town”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

What a pleasure to be able to have dinner with friends and be able to enjoy excellent food and conversation. Prices are not low, but the food is beautifully served, novel tastes and you;re not rushed out to make the table available. Wine is a bit too pricey, but the beer is excellent and I like beer more than wine. Crossroads has slowly evolved to be my favorite restaurant (since Panzanella disappeared).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, nc
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Only the Best”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Where else can you dine in a beautiful Antebellum Hotel and enjoy 5 Star cuisine all while sitting in the heart of the University of North Carolina's garden-like campus! A absolute "Must Dine" experience as it is one of the state's top rated restaurants and the menu of fresh local ingredients, exceptional wine list and great ambiance ranks with the very best in major cities around the world.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank harbormaster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast US
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Food”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a romantic dinner celebrating our anniversary during the week. The service was nothing but excellent. Wine was, as expected, overpriced but no less delicious. Good wine selection both price and depth wise. My wife and I both enjoyed the cheese board as well as a selection of salted hams. For dinner she dined on the Korean fried quail and I enjoyed the pork tenderloin and suckling pig confit. After the meal we both enjoyed delicious coffee along with a chocolate hazelnut torte and a surprise creme brulee from the staff for our anniversary. All delicious.

The serving sizes are normal adult serving sizes not americanized triple serving sizes. However, like I said before it is all so delicious and totally worth it. plus you don't overeat and leave feeling bloated.

Show up early for your dinner reservation and enjoy a cocktail in the bar or out on the "front porch" or make it a nightcap it will definitely enhance the experience.

We have also been there for the brunch on the weekends and it is also wonderful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfburnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crossroads Chapel Hill also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
 
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Crossroads Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing