We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills breakfast that hits the spot”

Ye Olde Waffle Shoppe
Ranked #43 of 292 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No frills breakfast that hits the spot”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I was in the mood for pancakes so my husband, and I decided to give this place a try. I was really happy with my blueberry pancakes. They are about 8" in size so I opted for the stack of two. They had just enough sweetness that I didn't need syrup.
The decor is probably original and very simple. So if your are looking for a fancy or upscale place, this isn't it.
Service was friendly and fast. Pancakes were brought to our table hot off the griddle.
Tip: bring a sweater because the place is kept really cold and they don't serve hot chocolate in the summer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DARK622007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stopped here for breakfast while in Chapel Hill visiting colleges with the family. Narrow storefront on Franklin. Promptly seated early on a Saturday morning, busy but not too crowded. Attentive, friendly service. Went with waffles. Food arrived quickly. Kids loved the M&M waffles, thought it was a fabulous idea. Blueberry waffles had fresh delicious berries on top only-would be nice if cooked inside too. Waffle combo came w one egg-had it perfectly scrambled and 2 slices of bacon with waffle. Not as cheap as Waffle House but quaint and delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buck5465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Although this is supposed to be a Chapel Hill institution, we had hoped for better. Food was OK, but nothing special. Who serves margarine for breakfast instead of butter?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank baileyfirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugspur, Virginia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A good breakfast, not quite up to expectations”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I found this restaurant on a list of the top 50 breakfast locations in the US. While in Chapel Hill for a graduation a chance came to sample Ye Olde Waffle Shop the day after the events.
The restaurant was not crowded and we were seated promptly. Service was excellent and our server very attentive.
The menu is typical waffle house style with a few upscale items like Eggs Benedict and Florentine. My partner was very pleased with the Eggs Florentine. Nicely prepared visually and tasty. I had a Spanish omelet which had a nice blend of peppers and tomatoes.
Overall the experience was pleasant, food and service great. I expect the nostalgia factor helped make the top 50 list but we would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueridgeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Waffle shop more than just waffles”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

So you are in Chapel Hill and you want a quick breakfast or breakfast for lunch? GO HERE!!! Service is always pleasant and fast; surprisingly bigger inside than small storefront would suggest and the menu has everything on it for breakfast you'd want. Omelets? Yup. Pancakes? Yup. Hashbrowns (and they'll even make them dark)? Yup. I could go on and on but you get the idea. Mom and I love going the after an early doctors appointment. Those that pan this place are not taking the local 'color' into the equation. Much better than the chain. Some people just don't know local and expect everything to be like a big box!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnnsandybarnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Waffle Shoppe also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Ye Olde Waffle Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing