We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”

Allen & Son Barbecue
Ranked #68 of 292 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch
Cary, N. Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you want authentic eastern North Carolina BBQ, Allen and Son's is the place to go! The sauce is vinegar based with a great smoky taste.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ATravelBugInNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    43
    34
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced and really not that great”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Allen and Son is well-known and recommended in the Chapel Hill area. I have to say though that my food wasn't great and my meal was quite overpriced. Got the barbeque plate and the BBQ was kind of dry and tough with some gristle mixed in, the coleslaw pretty good, and the hushpuppies just flat disappointing. Did get the chocolate pie for dessert which was pretty good if somewhat too sticky-sweet. "Homemade" ice cream with the pie was hard and not very good. Bill (for lunch) was $20. So despite all the fuss, I'd say over-priced and over-hyped. There are better BBQ places in the area (better food and value), including Q-shack and Bullocks. Start there, not here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hokierick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Well Kept Secret”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is wonderful North Carolina bbq and is off the beaten path. Well worth trying to find. Had BBQ plate and was so tasty. Give it a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerrie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was my second time here. The first time was last year and I had to go back this year! Great bbq and hush puppies and coleslaw! Locally owned! Pecan Pie to die for. Will go again next year!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sburk2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Barbecue fans always have their favorites. I know Allen & Son is a local favorite. I'd never turn it down but I wouldn't go out of my way to pick some up.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allen & Son Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Allen & Son Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing