We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Squid's Seafood Market and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 289 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I visited on a Saturday night at around 8 pm. The service and food were mediocre. The steamed oysters were mildly warm, the crab legs acceptable and the peel and eat shrimp were chewy; as if they were days old. The service was slow and less than enthusiastic. We could hear every word of the next table's conversation. The tables are so close! In the future, we will seek out other seafood in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dkba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    100
    43
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edisto Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“best oysters in the area!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is our go to restaurant for good seafood! They have great service friendly staff yummy hot hushpuppies for bread and great fried and raw oysters from the Rappahannock River on the Chesapeake Bay!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank patty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oysters and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Oysters are 1/2 price - 4-6pm everyday! Bargain!!!. Hush puppies and salad with grilled shrimp. We ate at the bar. Bartender made great cosmopolitan! Visiting the area and would recommend

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oyster bargains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you sit at the bar and have a liking for oysters then this is the restaurant for you. Good beers and wine offered at reasonable prices. Watch out for the early crowd though. Most of the areas retirees also enjoy this seafood joint.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“everybody should go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I go to Squids at least twice a month and I have always been very satisfied with my dinner also because it has been always consistent.It is definitely my first choice in the area

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squid's Seafood Market and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Squid's Seafood Market and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing