We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Popular but Twice I Had Too Much Salt”
Review of Lantern Restaurant

Lantern Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lantern Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 292 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Always Popular but Twice I Had Too Much Salt”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The chef is admired greatly, and a supporter of the Slow Food movement. The restaurant is always at the top of all the lists; but twice I had meals that were too salty (and I'm not picky about salt) ... so much so that my dining partner and I both felt very thirsty after the meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    70
    40
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Magically delicious.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

To risk sounding like an ignoramus, I have no idea what exactly we ate, but all was AHMazing! So creative, "fusion" degrades the authentic explosion of flavors emanating from these plates. RSVP. Now.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pairandaspare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go To Place in Chapel Hill”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The kitchen relies primarily on fresh, local ingredients. Inventive, well executed menu with a professional staff. Go to the bar in the back of the restaurant for a great experience. Not as sedate as the dining room....it's a kick.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“most items excellent”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We read the reviews for the Lantern but entered with an open mind.
Very nice simple, sleek interior which we liked very much.
We found many of the items were excellent with only a few mediocre. The Vietnamese shrimp soup was very disappointing compared with the other appetizer choices (beyond excellent was the salt and pepper shrimp eaten with shell on and served with deep fried cilantro and jalapenos. Excellent choices were the Korean Chicken and pork and chive dumplings ). The main choice of coconut braised local pork shank was a disappointment ONLY because the pork was smoked and ham-like as opposed to plain fresh pork.( Not noted on menu or by server which would have affected our choice as we don't like ham.) However, the accompanying rice, coconut sauce and papaya salad were fabulous. The dessert of persimmon steamed pudding with candied kumquats was very nice but the pudding itself was a bit too loose. (English pudding texture would have been better). Noted reviews that complained of price but quality and freshness were excellent and in my opionion well worth the price and a return visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PittsburghFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Amazing Asian Inspired Cuisine”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lantern is one of the few "Asian Fusion" restaurants that manages to get it right. The food is all obtained from local sources, including local North Carolina Seafood. Regardless of what is on the menu, it's excellent. It's the type of place where you can try new flavors and not be the least bit disappointed. The servings are more than sufficient and you will leave well fed to say the least. The service is excellent, the staff is very helpful and can advise you about your order. They have a bar in the back that is first come first serve, but if you would like to sit in the main dining room reservations are recommended.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mboyd71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lantern Restaurant also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Lantern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing