We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BLT in Town and beyond!”
Review of merritt's store

merritt's store
Ranked #1 of 293 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: BLT
Restaurant details
Description: BLT
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best BLT in Town and beyond!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the best place to enjoy a BLT! Absolutely fresh and delicious in a low key super friendly atmosphere! I have never had a better tasting BLT!
If you are hungry - go for the triple!
Don't Miss IT!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    95
    15
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best BLT ever!!!!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Don't let the outside fool you. We almost drove away but glad we didn't. We had the best blt's ever. I swear they picked the tomatoes right off the vine. Delicious. Very casual. A few tables inside and lots of picnic tables outside. Just walk up and order and pay on your way out. Very fresh food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank obxbeachgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh/Durham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“BLT HEAVEN!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you love BLT's and you have not been to Merritt's Store in Chapel Hill your missing out! The BLT's come single (six strips of bacon I think), double (twelve strips of bacon) and triple (18 strips of bacon) stuffed between two slabs of fresh bakery bread (six choices of bread) and layered with really fresh tomatoes and romaine lettuce.....My wife and I split a double each ate half then looked at each other and ordered a second one....enough said!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mercedespooldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I've been in Chapel Hill for five years now, and waited until yesterday to try this little corner store. You walk in and it feels like you've been taken back to the 50s. There's a walk-up counter to order your food. They're known in particular for their BLTs, but they have burgers, hot dogs, and other kinds of sandwiches. While you're waiting for your sandwich to be made, you can choose from an assortment of beers, sodas in glass bottles, and wine. They also have some delicious sweet tea, if you're into that. After you get your white paper-wrapped sandwich, you take it to another counter to pay, and have a seat outside. I suggest going there for lunch. It seems that's when you can get the widest variety of foods off the menu. I had the pimiento cheese, which was homemade and absolutely delicious. Many of the ingredients are local, and all are fresh. The bread choice is fantastic!

Also, the owner of the place is usually around and comes to chat with patrons, which I think adds a special touch to the place. If you're passing through or hanging around Chapel Hill midday, stop by here for an affordable and delicious lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolinagirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed merritt's store also viewed

 

Been to merritt's store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing