We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love looking at rings...”

The Carolina Basketball Museum
Ranked #2 of 44 things to do in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
247 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I love looking at rings...”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The folks at UNC are so cool. They'll just let you walk right in and check this place out!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Princerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must-see if you are in the Chapel Hill area... fantastic collection of memorabilia and history!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We visited this museum during our stay in Chapel Hill and were completely blown away at the memorabilia and history here. It is completely free, but a donation box sits at the entrance/exit. They have all 5 of UNC's National Championship trophies, and an impressive collection of other things. The first thing you do is watch a 4-minute video on UNC basketball. Then, you exit that room and enter a room where most of the items are exhibited, a half-court replica of the Smith Center floor and a basket. I loved all of the videos as well. They had a huge draft board that showed all of the UNC 1st round draft picks in the NBA. They also had lots of memorabilia showcasing all eras of Carolina basketball, from Jordan to Hansbrough to the 1950s. Even the non-sports person in our family really enjoyed it. I strongly suggest a visit here for anyone in the Chapel HIll area.

Side Note: Parking is kind of a pain... you park across the street in a metered lot, and then cross the street and enter the Williamson Athletic Center.

Definitely plan to spend anywhere from 1-3 hours here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Wonderful for a UNC Basketball fan...”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

...Of which I am not one. Quite the opposite, actually. But I can see when something has been done well - and if I did root for the Tar Heels this place would be worthy of at least 2 hours.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank jahausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“UNC B Ball Museum”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is a really comprehensive and interesting museum, and it is amazing how much they have in there. There are great old videos and momentos, and to stand and look at all of the ACC, NCAA championship trophies is pretty remarkable. It is a must for any basketball fan, whether or not you are a UNC fan.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must see for any basketball fan!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Although not a Carolina fan. I was more than impressed with what they have done. Very interesting layout with the court and how significant "shots" are laid out in the court. Like standing in there shoes. Would have liked for the Smith Center to be part of the experience and be open for tours on Saturday. Like I said a must see for any basketball fan. Even a Duke fan!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SkipHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carolina Basketball Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Carolina Basketball Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing