We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see for any basketball fan!”

The Carolina Basketball Museum
Ranked #2 of 44 things to do in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Home
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must see for any basketball fan!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Although not a Carolina fan. I was more than impressed with what they have done. Very interesting layout with the court and how significant "shots" are laid out in the court. Like standing in there shoes. Would have liked for the Smith Center to be part of the experience and be open for tours on Saturday. Like I said a must see for any basketball fan. Even a Duke fan!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SkipHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Behind the Scenes Visit”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Extensive tour of locker rooms and meeting facilities. Sinking a shot on the floor of the Dean Dome was a life time experience. Tour of the extensvie displays in the museum was a fitting and very moving finale.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, IL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Brought Tears to my Eyes”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

ONE WORD........................BREATHTAKING!!!! First off let me say that I am a huge UNC fan and I have been for many years. However I live in northern Illinois so I never thought I would have the chance to visit the campus........but we did.
On our way home from our cruise vacation we stopped in Chapel Hill for 2 days. The Carolina Basketball Museum is a basketball lovers dream. There are displays for Dean Smith, Roy Williams, Bill Guthridge, James Worthy, Michael Jordan, and my all-time favorite Tar Heel Tyler Hansbrough. There are championship trophies and rings, Jordan's acceptance letter from UNC, and players game worn shoes and uniforms.
I have been to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts. The Carolina Basketball Museum is so much better. You don't have to be a UNC fan to appreciate this museum. I was in awe from the moment I walked in.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“From the point of veiw of a kid”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

this review was written by a 13 year old kid 1 day after they went:

It was the most amazing thing i have ever seen!!!!!!!! they had everything!!!! the rings, the scorebooks, the uniforms, the trofies everything! i swear! they also had a movie right when you walk in! definately check that out unless you get dizzy easily! and the main room is actually a basketball court that has circles that hafe text on them on the ground showing you things like wear Michael jordan jumped from for his signature dunk and a 27 footer 3 pointer, i dont remember who made that one, and cool things like that! they also have videos all over about everyone and a list on the wall to show who from unc went on to play in the NBA. its the coolest thing i have ever seen but i have a warning: when they say CAROLINA basketball museum they really mean UNC basketball museum, so if you are a duke fan, i wouldnt go. sorry! the last thing i am going to tell you is that this museum is located right next to the Dean Dome where UNC actually plays. now when i went over there it was locked, but you could still peer in through the window and see the famous light blue chairs! this museum is a MUST GO!!!!

Helpful?
Thank starfy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

A must visit for any Tar Heels fan. You could spend hours in here just checking everything out. Wonderful memories of past Tar Heel greats.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jefe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carolina Basketball Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Carolina Basketball Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing