We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful.. a tad confused”
Review of Rizzo Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rizzo Center
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful.. a tad confused”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Rizzo Conference center is beautiful along with being situated close enough to the campus for convenience. I would highly recommend the hotel however, there is lack of organization and communication. Upon booking and arriving we were told that breakfast which is located in the DuBose mansion was complimentary. On Saturday morning when we had breakfast there was no charge and then on Sunday morning after having breakfast for more than a half hour with no one even coming out to greet us or offer coffee we were told to sign for the bill. Ok, so if breakfast was in fact an additional fee dont you think that someone would of come out to offer coffee at least or something? strange!
After the confusion the employee at the Mclean building rudely stated "I am sure you are wrong and there was no mention upon check in or website". So, I would stay here again however, I am tempted to book at the Carolina Inn next month when I come for parents weekend. I also should let you know that the sports bar service on Friday evening was great, the gentleman working was really great!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brittany b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin D, Front Office Manager at Rizzo Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Brittney B, thank you for your comments from your recent stay.
I sincerely apologize for the lack of communication that impacted your experience at our property. I can reassure you that this is not indicative of the level of service we pride ourselves on at the Rizzo Conference Center. We have reviewed our procedures with all of our associates to prevent any future failure in communications.
Again thank you for your comments we hope to have your future business.

Kristin Drake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    52
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
35
13
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay for a UNC college visit. Rooms were huge and well appointed. The grounds are gorgeous and perfect for a little exploring. Enjoyed the pool, as well. Pantries on each floor stocked with complimentary treats and drinks are a huge bonus. Kids loved it. Not a walk-to location but a few minutes drive to everything. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanttogobacksoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Well priced, friendly staff, fun outdoor pool. Dubose house breakfast is fantastic. Free internet is a plus, snacks abound which is great for kids. We ordered room service and the food was great. Staff was accommodating and allowed us to check in early. Very pretty grounds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red26777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My week at the Rizzo Conference Center was a wonderful experience. I had never heard of this place before, but they were offering training that I needed for my professional development and certification maintenance. The staff was friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, and there is a fast wireless internet connection. There is a mall and several shopping areas nearby as well as running trails and a fitness center on site. There are several restaurants in the immediate area that specialize in American southern cuisine. There is also a well equipped business center as well as a common area with a refrigerator filled with various types of ice cream, soda, juice, etc.

Green Features: There were recycle bins all over the facility and there were placed you could refill your water bottle, via a filtered water machine.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Rizzo Conference Center exceeded my expectations, which is not easy to do! They made the stay comfortable and calm, and the serene garden setting away from the hubbub of Franklin Street was lovely. The shuttle into downtown Chapel Hill was easy, convenient and free. Wi-fi is included, as well as Free(!) ice cream stocked in the handy and convenient guest pantry, where you will also find complimentary coffee, tea, popcorn and beverages. They offer cookies in the afternoon and evening as well! There is a continental breakfast for those who don't want to walk a few feet to the fabulous Dubose House, literally across from the center. The breakfast in Dubose house shouldn't be missed and is included! Ask to sit on the porch next to the library and enjoy the garden setting from your table. It is lovely. The work out facility is wonderfully equipped and even has a doctor's scale for those who feel the need! The hotel and conference center is very conveniently located. The rooms were clean, bug free, with all necessary amenities. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place for a restful and peaceful stay in Chapel Hill and would not hesitate to return!

Room Tip: Make sure to take advantage of the breakfast in Dubose house, included, of course. Ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenhouseGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Greatly exceeded my expectations. Hotel, restaurant and conference facilities were great. Staff was very pleasant. Area was beatiful and close to running trails and just a few miles from downtown chapel hill. Don't miss out on the free ice cream treats on the second floor of the hotel. Only annoying thing was the super low flow shower head. It was also hard to control the temperature of the water (a very slight turn of the handle would take the water from cold to unbarably hot.

Room Tip: If I could choose I would pick the first or second floor over the B level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for a recent conference and was pleasantly surprised at this facility. The rooms are clean and comfortable, if a little bit dated. The food was simply incredible, both at the mansion up the hill and in the conference center. Each floor in the housing wing also had a pantry with ice cream bars in the freezer. The bar in the basement was fun, and the room service menu was good, although limited.

Green Features: The conference rooms encouraged you to put a sticker on your water bottle to reuse it after breaks. Filtered water dispensers were provided to refill your bottle. Clever idea.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KangaTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,281 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.8 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rizzo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rizzo Center

Property: Rizzo Center
Address: 150 DuBose Home Lane, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-8944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rizzo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this rare retreat, set amid 30 acres of natural woodlands. Created for the University of North Carolina's Kenan-Flagler Business School's executive education, Rizzo Center combines sophisticated meeting facilities with a beautiful setting and memorable Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Rizzo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing