We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rizzo Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rizzo Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Well priced, friendly staff, fun outdoor pool. Dubose house breakfast is fantastic. Free internet is a plus, snacks abound which is great for kids. We ordered room service and the food was great. Staff was accommodating and allowed us to check in early. Very pretty grounds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red26777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    35
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
14
7
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My week at the Rizzo Conference Center was a wonderful experience. I had never heard of this place before, but they were offering training that I needed for my professional development and certification maintenance. The staff was friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, and there is a fast wireless internet connection. There is a mall and several shopping areas nearby as well as running trails and a fitness center on site. There are several restaurants in the immediate area that specialize in American southern cuisine. There is also a well equipped business center as well as a common area with a refrigerator filled with various types of ice cream, soda, juice, etc.

Green Features: There were recycle bins all over the facility and there were placed you could refill your water bottle, via a filtered water machine.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Rizzo Conference Center exceeded my expectations, which is not easy to do! They made the stay comfortable and calm, and the serene garden setting away from the hubbub of Franklin Street was lovely. The shuttle into downtown Chapel Hill was easy, convenient and free. Wi-fi is included, as well as Free(!) ice cream stocked in the handy and convenient guest pantry, where you will also find complimentary coffee, tea, popcorn and beverages. They offer cookies in the afternoon and evening as well! There is a continental breakfast for those who don't want to walk a few feet to the fabulous Dubose House, literally across from the center. The breakfast in Dubose house shouldn't be missed and is included! Ask to sit on the porch next to the library and enjoy the garden setting from your table. It is lovely. The work out facility is wonderfully equipped and even has a doctor's scale for those who feel the need! The hotel and conference center is very conveniently located. The rooms were clean, bug free, with all necessary amenities. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place for a restful and peaceful stay in Chapel Hill and would not hesitate to return!

Room Tip: Make sure to take advantage of the breakfast in Dubose house, included, of course. Ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenhouseGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Level Contributor
157 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Greatly exceeded my expectations. Hotel, restaurant and conference facilities were great. Staff was very pleasant. Area was beatiful and close to running trails and just a few miles from downtown chapel hill. Don't miss out on the free ice cream treats on the second floor of the hotel. Only annoying thing was the super low flow shower head. It was also hard to control the temperature of the water (a very slight turn of the handle would take the water from cold to unbarably hot.

Room Tip: If I could choose I would pick the first or second floor over the B level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for a recent conference and was pleasantly surprised at this facility. The rooms are clean and comfortable, if a little bit dated. The food was simply incredible, both at the mansion up the hill and in the conference center. Each floor in the housing wing also had a pantry with ice cream bars in the freezer. The bar in the basement was fun, and the room service menu was good, although limited.

Green Features: The conference rooms encouraged you to put a sticker on your water bottle to reuse it after breaks. Filtered water dispensers were provided to refill your bottle. Clever idea.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KangaTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Since we would be in the Chapel Hill area for a Frightened Rabbit concert we wanted to find a place to stay so we would not have to drive back home so late after the concert was over. So glad we found the Rizzo Conference Center; what a fabulous place to stay! The front desk staff were great; loved the information sheet we were given with all the hotel amenities and where/how to access them. The room was really nice, comfortable bed, and great shower. Oh yes, the guest pantry: free coffee, tea, cola, juice, water, popcorn, and ice cream. There is also a shuttle that will take you anywhere in something like a 5 mile radius. And the best part of our stay at the Rizzo was the very reasonable price!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReiversGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the UNC - Duke basketball game. I don't really understand the glowing reviews. The room was small (but clean), but the queen bed had a springs problem and we both ended up rolling into the middle of it. The bedding included some sort of comforter/bedspread that is clearly not laundered after each guest, and a down alternative blanket between two sheets (not a duvet), leaving the blanket exposed to the guest (also likely not cleaned between each guest). The bathroom was small (but clean), with the shampoo and conditioner in dispensers on the wall. The TV reception was poor (although the TV was a flat screen). The guest pantry was convenient - but I opened a cabinet wondering if there were snacks inside - and it was filthy. There is no food service for lunch or during the day, no place for a drink before 5:30 (on this day anyway). Breakfast ended at 10 on weekends, including the weekend where Daylight Savings Time kicked in, which was too early, and we skipped it. The clock in the room magically changed time, and that created some confusion on my part as to what time it really was (a note would have been nice). The staff was very nice, as has widely been reported, but there was one big service error. We took the shuttle to and from the game, and the ride back from the game was a scary one; a packed shuttle and a young, inexperienced driver rushing to drop us off and pick up those who he left behind. He drove that van too fast, and even made a comment going up the hill. We will not return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin D, Front Office Manager at Rizzo Conference Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Rizzo Conference Center and for taking the time to give your feedback. Our guest feedback is very important to us as we can celebrate our successes and address any concerns to continue to improve our services. I would appreciate the opportunity to personally speak with you regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you were caused and hope to have the opportunity to earn back your business. If your schedule permits I am hopeful to have the opportunity to connect via phone and can be reached at 919-913-2610. I look forward to speaking you.

Sincerely,
Kristin Drake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
2.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#2 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Franklin Hotel
The Franklin Hotel
#4 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#6 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rizzo Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rizzo Conference Center

Property: Rizzo Conference Center
Address: 150 Dubose Home Ln, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-8944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rizzo Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this rare retreat, set amid 30 acres of natural woodlands. Created for the University of North Carolina's Kenan-Flagler Business School's executive education, Rizzo Conference Center combines sophisticated meeting facilities with a beautiful setting and memorable Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Rizzo Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing