We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff and the beauty of the grounds made my stay very enjoyable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rizzo Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rizzo Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The staff and the beauty of the grounds made my stay very enjoyable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Rizzo is a beautiful place to stay. It has a very relaxing atmosphere. The amenities are well above average. I enjoyed the complimentary beverages and ice cream in the pantry. I would highly recommend staying at the Rizzo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin D, Manager at Rizzo Conference Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for recently staying with us at the Rizzo Conference Center. We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while here in Chapel Hill on business or pleasure.

We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, invigorating, stimulating and filled with positive interactions. Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us and we look forward to your next trip to Chapel Hill.

Warm Regards,
Kristin Drake
Front Ofiice Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    32
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
13
7
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed at the Rizzo during a football weekend. Impressed with the service, hospitality, work out area and particularly the wonderful breakfast buffet at the DuBose House. One drawback is the traffic lane for check out is difficult to navigate.

Room Tip: If one needs a bit more sleeping space I'd suggest a room with two double beds, less than a quar...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vintage16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Have wanted to stay at the Rizzo Center for years but could never get a reservation. It's obvious now that I have been there.....everything about the Center is excellent. The staff is friendly and eager to be of assistance.The room was tastefully decorated with easy access. What a treat to locate the pantry and complimentary ice cream, coffee, tea, popcorn. Worth every effort to obtain reservations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asheville-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed overnight for UNC sporting event. The Inn is quiet, well-kept, clean, and situated on beautiful grounds. Great place for a night, weekend or event. Being on the grounds makes it hard to believe you are 5 minutes from campus. The "sports bar" allows for a game of pool, watching a ballgame, or grabbing a beer or cocktail with friends. I will stay here again. I would like to see them make King beds an option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdumbandugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My accommodation was arranged by the conference sponsor. I enjoyed a beautiful room at the DuBose house, wonderful environment helped me have the right mindset to prepare for my speaking engagement. Food was very good, staff very professional. Conference facility was first rate.

I wish I lived closer!

Room Tip: The DuBose house was lovely; room 302 was up 2 flights, but quiet as a church, comfortable, restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riehen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Positives: Very good location, beautiful setting, friendly staff, clean, excellent breakfast for an additional $12.50.
Suggestion for improvements: we were allotted a room on a corridor on the ground floor close to the reception. The room was well appointed but rather dark, we could have been given a choice since the property has many rooms both on the second floor of the same building as well as in other buildings. The insulation of the plumbing is very poor, at least as far as our room was concerned and since guests shower from 5 am until well after midnight, it was simply not possible to have a good night's sleep.
Housekeeping ensures cleanliness but lacks training e.g. no additional roll of toilet paper, no bath floor towel; a checklist for housekeeping staff would help to maintain a good standard.

Very good hotel but would suggest guests to ask for a room on the 2nd floor of McLean house or one of the other buildings.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, avoid the rooms on the ground floor of McLean house near the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just concluded a business conference at this incredible hotel, conference center and historic site. Guest rooms were comfortbale, spotless and well appointed. Meeting services were excellent!. Staff understands how to conduct a professsional conference, food, meeting details, conference tables and chairs as well as A/V was superb.

The historic Dubose House which dates to the early 1930's is perfect for elegant dining. The property also has acres of gardens and walking paths as well as great outdoor pool and fitness center.

Room Tip: For history buffs, ask to upgrade to the Dubose House, it is worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTHE-Guest-Services
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
3.1 mi away
The Franklin Hotel
The Franklin Hotel
#4 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#2 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#8 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rizzo Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rizzo Conference Center

Property: Rizzo Conference Center
Address: 150 DuBose Home Lane, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rizzo Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this rare retreat, set amid 30 acres of natural woodlands. Created for the University of North Carolina's Kenan-Flagler Business School's executive education, Rizzo Conference Center combines sophisticated meeting facilities with a beautiful setting and memorable Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Rizzo Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing