We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, staff and amenities. My first visit but staff made me feel like a regular guest.”
Review of Rizzo Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rizzo Center
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Have wanted to stay at the Rizzo Center for years but could never get a reservation. It's obvious now that I have been there.....everything about the Center is excellent. The staff is friendly and eager to be of assistance.The room was tastefully decorated with easy access. What a treat to locate the pantry and complimentary ice cream, coffee, tea, popcorn. Worth every effort to obtain reservations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asheville-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 516 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed overnight for UNC sporting event. The Inn is quiet, well-kept, clean, and situated on beautiful grounds. Great place for a night, weekend or event. Being on the grounds makes it hard to believe you are 5 minutes from campus. The "sports bar" allows for a game of pool, watching a ballgame, or grabbing a beer or cocktail with friends. I will stay here again. I would like to see them make King beds an option.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigdumbandugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My accommodation was arranged by the conference sponsor. I enjoyed a beautiful room at the DuBose house, wonderful environment helped me have the right mindset to prepare for my speaking engagement. Food was very good, staff very professional. Conference facility was first rate.

I wish I lived closer!

Room Tip: The DuBose house was lovely; room 302 was up 2 flights, but quiet as a church, comfortable, restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Positives: Very good location, beautiful setting, friendly staff, clean, excellent breakfast for an additional $12.50.
Suggestion for improvements: we were allotted a room on a corridor on the ground floor close to the reception. The room was well appointed but rather dark, we could have been given a choice since the property has many rooms both on the second floor of the same building as well as in other buildings. The insulation of the plumbing is very poor, at least as far as our room was concerned and since guests shower from 5 am until well after midnight, it was simply not possible to have a good night's sleep.
Housekeeping ensures cleanliness but lacks training e.g. no additional roll of toilet paper, no bath floor towel; a checklist for housekeeping staff would help to maintain a good standard.

Very good hotel but would suggest guests to ask for a room on the 2nd floor of McLean house or one of the other buildings.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, avoid the rooms on the ground floor of McLean house near the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouristZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just concluded a business conference at this incredible hotel, conference center and historic site. Guest rooms were comfortbale, spotless and well appointed. Meeting services were excellent!. Staff understands how to conduct a professsional conference, food, meeting details, conference tables and chairs as well as A/V was superb.

The historic Dubose House which dates to the early 1930's is perfect for elegant dining. The property also has acres of gardens and walking paths as well as great outdoor pool and fitness center.

Room Tip: For history buffs, ask to upgrade to the Dubose House, it is worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTHE-Guest-Services
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

double queen room, guest laundry, guest pantry, breakfast in the Dubose House, umbrellas by the front door, pool, many different lounge areas, eagles nest visible from balcony, all the charm, warmth, comfort and friendly folks you might find at any grand southern plantation. WOW am I happy we found this hidden gem. Many longtime Chapel Hill residents were unaware of this property. You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

Room Tip: double queen is much larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endlessummer7084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Recently completed a 5 day visit to the UNC Rizzo Campus for a Logistics seminar - and this property does everything right.
HOTEL: Nearly on the level of Ritz.....as far as furnishings and room layout goes. I had a single queen room, with crown molding, roomy bathroom and leather recliner. L shaped desk was more than ample for business requirements. LCD flat screen TV and a small fridge. Rooms are beautiful.
FOOD: Truly 5 star every-single-meal every day! Seriously.....not one bad meal. And, with my rate, all meals (not just breakfast) but ALL meals were included.
EXTRAs: Pool and fitness center were outstanding. Complimentary sodas, water, popcorn and frozen treats are included as is free self-serve laundry facilities.
CONs: The parking lot is an uphill hike and the property is not close to the main campus.....but, if you have a car you will have no problems.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARATHON-MCPO-USN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,430 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.1 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rizzo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rizzo Center

Address: 150 Dubose Home Ln, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-8944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $164 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rizzo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this rare retreat, set amid 30 acres of natural woodlands. Created for the University of North Carolina's Kenan-Flagler Business School's executive education, Rizzo Center combines sophisticated meeting facilities with a beautiful setting and memorable Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rizzo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing