We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Noisy A/C.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Overall this is one of the nicest, cleanest, friendliest Hampton Inns I have ever been too. The breakfast and coffee each morning was good and the service was as well.

The problem we had at this hotel is that the AC/heating unit was noisy and it kept us up half the night, each night we were here. I had to continually get up and bang on it to keep it from rattling. We sleep fairly cold so I turned the heat on in the morning and the heating unit set the smoke detector off at 6:00am. Not a great way to wake up.

This hotel should be 5 stars cut they might want to inspect their AC units.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank akribos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine C, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I will be sharing your review with our staff to put some corrective measures in place. I appreciate the kind words and hope we can serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 787 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

First off... the room was excellent...great beds. Rooms were laid out well
It was very quiet, comfortable and clean
The staff was helpful and polite.
Breakfast was well stocked and fresh
BUT no one except a pizza shop delivers there. They did have frozen food which you could buy and nuke in the kitchen . This knocked off a few points.
It was quite a chore to find....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimVallejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stay here a lot and it's normally great, but I highly recommend putting your do not disturb sign on the door even if you're checking out that day. This last time that we stayed, the maid service knocked at 9:10am and then again 30 min later. He even opened the door when I didn't get there quickly enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank melisweet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

All Hampton seem to be user friendly, and this one certainly was. Prices vary on weekends in the fall when there are football games, but Sunday through Thursday nights are more reasonable. Very clean rooms, very nice breakfast area with lots of UNC sports photos. Coffee, etc. in the lobby. An enjoyable stay. Air conditioner was a little noisy but we slept fine.

Room Tip: Ground floor may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very nice rooms... staff is very supportive which reflects overall management of the hotel... complimentary snacks on Tuesday & Wednesday... very well connected to the highway. restaurant not available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divyang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

By now, after three weeks' travel in the USA, us Brits had a good idea of what standard to expect of a Hampton Inn. This one did not disappoint. We arrived much earlier than anticipated due to torrential rain the whole journey which resulted in our cancelling our planned visit en route and heading straight for a comfortable hotel room. We were not disappointed. Although very early, welcoming staff were able to accommodate us immediately. Our room was clean but the decor was a little tired. We were able to make use of the guest coin laundry (surprisingly no such facility existed at our previous Hampton Inn, but that is unusual I think) and then take advantage of the hotel's shuttle to get to and from a restaurant in the still-pouring rain. After a very good breakfast, we were on our way - another good Hampton Inn experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJCandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review! Welcome as well from your trip across the ocean! We are pleased we were able to make your stay a good one and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just got back from a visit to the Chapel Hill area and were very happy with our choice of the Hampton Inn (thanks, TA). We arrived late and tired and weren't even all the way in the lobby when a cheerful hello greeted us. The clerk at the desk, whose name I'd wish I'd gotten, was very friendly and sympathetic to the tale of our long drive (though I'm sure she's heard similar tales hundreds of times). The lemonade was very welcome, though they were out of cookies, darn it.

The room was clean and comfortable, and I appreciated both the ability to turn the A/C unit's fan to 'on', masking any potential noise while we slept, and likewise the separate light and fan switch in the bathroom. My daughter and I slept great - my wife found the bed a bit uncomfortable.

The breakfast offerings the next morning was pretty standard, but the quality was much better than normal. I grabbed the cheese omelet, sausage and hash browns without much expectation but both my wife and i found them surprisingly good - my daughter stuck with her favorite fresh waffles from their waffle bar.

If the situation arises again to visit this area we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaJoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We appreciate each and every one of our guests and we are overjoyed when we can make our guests happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.3 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
473 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
#12 of 18 in Chapel Hill
140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
516 reviews
4 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area

Address: 6121 Farrington Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-9467
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $113 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Durham. The area around our Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham boasts some of the most respected and historic universities in the United States. When you're staying with us, you're on hallowed North Carolina ground-a collegiate home to hundreds of thousands of alumni. Traditions here date back to 1789. And yet despite all the venerable history and institutions, both Chapel Hill and Durham buzz with a vibrant hum of activity. From concerts to theater, from football to poetry-you'll find it all here, near our hotel in Chapel Hill. So come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham. We think you'll enjoy a visit to our area, where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area Hotel Chapel Hill
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing