We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hospitality...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Gandhinagar, Gujarat, India
1 review
“Excellent hospitality...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very nice rooms... staff is very supportive which reflects overall management of the hotel... complimentary snacks on Tuesday & Wednesday... very well connected to the highway. restaurant not available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divyang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    146
    36
    10
    13
See reviews for
293
81
29
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

By now, after three weeks' travel in the USA, us Brits had a good idea of what standard to expect of a Hampton Inn. This one did not disappoint. We arrived much earlier than anticipated due to torrential rain the whole journey which resulted in our cancelling our planned visit en route and heading straight for a comfortable hotel room. We were not disappointed. Although very early, welcoming staff were able to accommodate us immediately. Our room was clean but the decor was a little tired. We were able to make use of the guest coin laundry (surprisingly no such facility existed at our previous Hampton Inn, but that is unusual I think) and then take advantage of the hotel's shuttle to get to and from a restaurant in the still-pouring rain. After a very good breakfast, we were on our way - another good Hampton Inn experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJCandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! Welcome as well from your trip across the ocean! We are pleased we were able to make your stay a good one and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just got back from a visit to the Chapel Hill area and were very happy with our choice of the Hampton Inn (thanks, TA). We arrived late and tired and weren't even all the way in the lobby when a cheerful hello greeted us. The clerk at the desk, whose name I'd wish I'd gotten, was very friendly and sympathetic to the tale of our long drive (though I'm sure she's heard similar tales hundreds of times). The lemonade was very welcome, though they were out of cookies, darn it.

The room was clean and comfortable, and I appreciated both the ability to turn the A/C unit's fan to 'on', masking any potential noise while we slept, and likewise the separate light and fan switch in the bathroom. My daughter and I slept great - my wife found the bed a bit uncomfortable.

The breakfast offerings the next morning was pretty standard, but the quality was much better than normal. I grabbed the cheese omelet, sausage and hash browns without much expectation but both my wife and i found them surprisingly good - my daughter stuck with her favorite fresh waffles from their waffle bar.

If the situation arises again to visit this area we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaJoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We appreciate each and every one of our guests and we are overjoyed when we can make our guests happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I cannot believe a hotel will not offer the Military rate on Veterans Day weekend. They had rooms available, however we could not get the Military rate as they said it was sold out. I guess there are limits to how much they will support their service men and woman. And on Veterans Day of all days.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SWTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies that the staff did not recognize your discount. I will like to comp your room for your stay during Veterans day. Please contact me directly at alvin@atmahotelgroup.com.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Getting a hotel room in Chapel Hill on a football week-end, can be challenging, but add to it that you're doing it last minute AND it's also Family Week-End, and you're in for a real challenge! But I was rewarded in my quest in several ways: I was able to get a Suite for 2 nights at this Hampton Inn, and the staff was fabulous! (They even made cookies for us on Sat night!) From arrival to departure, it was great! The only drawback with this hotel is its distance from campus...and on occassion, that can be a good thing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank traveldoc28027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine C, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We try our best to offer exceptional customer service to every guest , everyday, every stay. I will also let the Front Desk Team know you appreciate their customer service and recognize them. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is an awesome hotel. And if you are a TARHEEL fan, then you are going to love it. Upon our arrival, we were so excited to see all the Tarheel pictures and fan memorabilia. We loved it. I was pleasantly surprised as I walked to the elevator and saw a picture of Dean Smith and Roy Williams sitting in the Dean Dome. Enjoyed the pictures of former players and teams. Perfect hotel for a TARHEEL fan like me!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had the distinct pleasure of staying at this hotel from 9/15-9/24. I chose this Hotel based on it's proximity to Memorial Hospital as daughter was having surgery there. The shuttle service to and from the Hospital was a great convenience. I have stayed in 5 star resorts and Hotels and have never been treated as well as I was at this Hotel. The staff was beyond kind, professional and considerate. The facility is immaculate and maintenace staff was very professional.They actually change the sheets daily which was a great perk considering my daughter had just had surgery. I would especially like to thank and recognize Tony Gwinn, Janeer Hoskins, Jay and Jennifer for their kindness.

Room Tip: Great place to stay in general but is very convenient if you or a family member has to have surgery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine C, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review. We are so pleased to know that you were satisfied with your stay. We do have such a great staff here and we are very thankful for them and for you for commending them! Our housekeeping staff is superb and they do ensure that our rooms are very clean and comfortable for all guests. Our maintenance man does a great job keeping up with the grounds as well as maintenance issues that may occur. Our breakfast hostess cooks a great breakfast each morning, too! We are very delighted that you commented on our hotel and all the areas that were satisfying to you, we are very appreciative of that! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.8 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.1 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#8 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Address: 6121 Farrington Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Durham. The area around our Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham boasts some of the most respected and historic universities in the United States. When you're staying with us, you're on hallowed North Carolina ground-a collegiate home to hundreds of thousands of alumni. Traditions here date back to 1789. And yet despite all the venerable history and institutions, both Chapel Hill and Durham buzz with a vibrant hum of activity. From concerts to theater, from football to poetry-you'll find it all here, near our hotel in Chapel Hill. So come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham. We think you'll enjoy a visit to our area, where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area Hotel Chapel Hill
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing