We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Quiet, But a Little Isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Quiet, But a Little Isolated”
Reviewed March 3, 2008

This was a nice hotel with clean, quiet rooms. People were very pleasant. We took advantage of their shuttle one night to go to Franklin Street in Chapel Hill for dinner, and that was very convenient. My only criticism is that there is no place around the hotel to buy groceries or go out to eat without getting in your car and driving. My 18 year old son got hungry one night after we had come back from dinner and he was forced to the candy machines near the lobby for something to eat - not a great choice. So we felt a little isolated there.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and quiet rooms
  • Disliked — Isolation from restaurants, grocery stores
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PaloAltoTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    148
    37
    10
    13
See reviews for
298
82
29
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2008

This hotel was great! From the minute we stepped into the lobby it was like no other Hampton Inn we've ever stayed in. Very nice, felt very new. The room was beautiful with granite countertops, a huge master bedroom, nice size living area with kitchen.
It was extemely hot when we were there, over 100 degrees yet the air conditioning had no problem keeping up with the heat. The room was cool and comfortable, the king bed was very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep.

The breakfast was pretty much your normal Hampton Inn breakfast, maybe a little better since the atmosphere was so much nicer than most of your run of the mill Hampton Inns.
We would not hesitate to go back to this Hampton Inn and we really wish all of them were like this!

  • Liked — Plenty of room and clean!
  • Disliked — Breakfast was average
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLESarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2007

We booked up conference area for a Thanksgiving gathering and from the first call everything went to perfection. The staff set the room and went beyond our expectations with a television and extra help with things we ourselves have forgotten. The timing and atmosphere could not have been better . A special thanks to Kenny Burgess , Jimmie Jones and Renaldo Pierre. Mr. K B really knows how to run this place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We will be back again in December because THERE IS NO PLACE LIKE HOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank gettechnical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

I've just finished a project in the area and had a chance to sample a few different places. But by far for the $, this is the place to stay.

I travel weekly and the suites are very reasonable. What I like mainly is that I don't have to eat out with the kitchenette in the suite. But everything else is good too. Like an embassy Suites, they do a happy hour (I think it's mid week only). But it's a great spread for a Hampton. I was very suprised.

The staff is attentive & personable. The manager seems pretty detail orineted and was able to help me book at rates to match my corporate per diem.

Thought they have a miniscule workout room, they have an arrangement with a gym around the corner in a local shopping center, walking distance, you show your hotel card key and you can work out free.

if I had anything to count as a negative. The internet connection is wireless. Not bad, but some rooms may have significantly weaker connections. (The lobby is great though)

One thing to Note. This place fills to capacity fast. The Friday center has confernces all the time and many of the college teams stay here so we're talking blocks of rooms that disappear quick. And anywhere in this town around gradualtion GL getting a room.

PS. the Nantuckett Grille is a short walk away, best deserts in the South I have had.

  • Liked — Kitchenette
  • Disliked — internet wireless sometimes spoty
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Robsteray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Az
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2007

We were flying out of Raleigh/Durham the next morning and were looking for a place to stay near the airport. Most everything was booked up, but we drove in to this Hampton's and they totally took care of us. They offered complimentary micro-brew beer and snacks. Everyone was friendly and kind...and had a great sense of humor!

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank markandtami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2006

I recently stayed 2 nights at the Hampton Inn while attending a wedding in Chapel Hill.

This hotel was perfect. Great location, easy drive to restaurants, mall, and area colleges. We visted Duke while we were here and it was a very easy drive.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel staff was nice. They serve complimentary breakfast too.

I would definately stay here again if in the area.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing.. very nice property
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunryz710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2006

Just returned from a 3 day stay here. There are 2 Hampton Inns listed in Chapel Hill. This one is located at exit 273 off Rte 40. on Farrington Rd.and is the Hampton Inn & Suites. I found it a wonderful, quiet place to stay. It sits back from the highway, and appears to be reasonably new. We were 3 people, and stayed in a suite, which had a king bedroom, and a separate living room area with a pull out sofa, and a full kitchenette with everything you could want, but I also looked into the regular bedrooms, and they seemed very lovely and spacious. The breakfast which was included, was buffet style, and offered a full buffet menu of fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravy, and all the other pasteries, cereal and stuff that you usually get at a regular continental bfk. We will return again and stay here, since my son lives in the area, and this is the best place that i have found.
Marion, Walpole, Ma.

Helpful?
7 Thank GAYLEWalpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.8 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#8 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Address: 6121 Farrington Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-9467
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Durham. The area around our Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham boasts some of the most respected and historic universities in the United States. When you're staying with us, you're on hallowed North Carolina ground-a collegiate home to hundreds of thousands of alumni. Traditions here date back to 1789. And yet despite all the venerable history and institutions, both Chapel Hill and Durham buzz with a vibrant hum of activity. From concerts to theater, from football to poetry-you'll find it all here, near our hotel in Chapel Hill. So come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham. We think you'll enjoy a visit to our area, where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area Hotel Chapel Hill
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing