We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Cheraw, SC
Level Contributor
284 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Super Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

LOVED this hotel! VERY quiet, clean, comfortable, super friendly staff. Decent breakfast (not exceptional, but not bad either). So quiet I actually wondered whether I was the only one on my floor (I wasn't lol). Very nicely decorated.

Easy on and off I-40, and close to Chapel Hill and Durham, UNC and Duke. Seemed to be plenty of parking.

Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The top floor was super quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruralartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    54
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
23
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel while attending a class at School of Government in Chapel Hill. The location was perfect - a quick left at the light and a straight shot to the school. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very well attended to. My only complaints about this room was that there was little to NO selections on the television (unless I was doing something wrong). They only had about five or six of the channels that were listed on the channels sheet. Also, the curtain in my room did not close completely. My room was on the 4th floor but it faced another (office?) building and I was always paranoid that someone would be able to see into my room. Overall, I had a great experience at this hotel and would highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvetteCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had to travel to Chapel Hill for a family function. I chose this hotel as I'm a Priority Club member and this chain is usually good. Well, this hotel was beyond all expectations. In fact, another family member was also there and he said it is his favorite in the area, and he could stay anywhere. The staff was friendly and helpful. In fact, they all seemed to be on the same page as far as their answers and service. We were very pleased with the staff, The accommadations were clean and very well cared for. The bathroom was certainly large enough, clean and very organized. We did not have time to visit the pool area or the exercise room, but we did have breakfast which was varied and very good. This was our favorite hotel in this chain and would recommend it to anyone going to Chapel Hill. It's location is also great.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th (top) floor, and thay was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
173 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Clean rooms, nice staff, breakfast area way too small. Pool at hotel next door.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LezaMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, IL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our recent visit to the UNC campus. It was a very good hotel with a reasonable rate of $79.99 a night (I had a coupon that they honored).
The breakfast was very good with eggs, biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, bacon, waffles, cereal, yogurt, and much more.
I would highly recommend this hotel when you're in Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights. The reception was friendly, the room and facilities were clean, and the breakfast was standard but well supplied and maintained.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charleston_WVMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

This hotel is just of I-40 but not too close so that it's quiet. Check-in was quick & painless. The rooms was very clean, quiet & comfortable. The fitness center equipment was fairly new and in working order. My only complaints were the TV in the room was cheap with a crappy remote and the parking was limited. Some of the parking is under the hotel is useless due to the support columns being in the edge of the parking spaces which make them only fit for a very small car. I had to park on the far side of the hotel but it wasn't too far. Other than that, the breakfast was your typical HI-Exp menu but was clean & well-stocked with the limited exception of not much fresh fruit. I would come back again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRofVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.8 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#8 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
#7 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Address: 6119 Farrington Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-9467
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#8 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 miles from the University of North Carolina and downtown Franklin Street's shopping and dining district the Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill is your home away from home for all of your Tar Heel needs . With our excellent customer service, southern hospitality and Manager's Reception Tuesday Thursdays your experience with us will make you a fan for life. All 64 of our beautiful spacious guest rooms are equipped with micro-fridges and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Some of our other features include a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, 24 hour business center, local shuttle service, meeting space that accommodates up to 40 people, 24 hour fitness room, complimentary access to an off site full service gym and free guest/motor coach parking. For your convenience we are located only minutes away from UNC Hospitals, the Friday Center, Quadrangle Business Park, Research Triangle Park (RTP), the Dean Dome, the Carolina Basketball Museum (opened January 2008) Keenan Stadium, Finley Golf Course, Raleigh Durham International Airport, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Duke University, Duke Hospitals, Streets of South Point Mall, the Durham Bulls Stadium, Carter Finley Stadium and the RBC Center home of the Carolina Hurricanes.No matter what brings you to Chapel Hill we're sure your experience with the Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill will exceed all of your expectations. We can t wait to be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing