We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best gelato this side of the Atlantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugarland

Sugarland
Ranked #2 of 8 Dessert in Chapel Hill
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best gelato this side of the Atlantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This has to be the best gelato you can find anywhere. Amazing selection, friendly staff, cute setting. But go for the gelato, or if you are brave, the affogato!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonxo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“bit overpriced with an unfriendly owner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

While, i love the idea of cupcakes and good gelato - i don't think you should pay a small fortune for it. Sugarland has pretty good (not excellent) sweet treats, but their pricing leaves much to be desired.

Moreover, it is somewhat annoying that the owner of the restaurant takes the best table in the house and parks himself there all day (window seat). You would think he would want paying customers to be enjoying the best seats in the house.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bhapgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Sweet Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a fun shop on Franklin Street. You can get cupcakes, cookies or gelato. I had the Mexican Hot Chocolate Gelato which is spicy and delicious.My kids loved the fruit flavored gelato.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Gelato”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Sugarland offers espresso drinks, pastries and impressive cakes, but gelato is the reason most people drop in.

It's excellent. Plenty of tables in a clean, well-lit dining room. A great place to stop for dessert if you're wandering Franklin Street.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeingSouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for treats!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Excellent gelato! Cupcake I had was so/so. I was expecting the quality of Magnolia Bakery or Crumbs in New York and was a little disappointed...I didn't feel the cupcakes we had were that good. But still a unique store and fun for the kids while visiting. I would definately go with the gelato!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmom2Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarland also viewed

 

Been to Sugarland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing