We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food”
Review of Merlion - CLOSED

Merlion
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Superb Food”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

In a word, the food was superb. Medium prices well worth the cost. Service has varied in quality on past visits but for the most part they have been attentive to our needs. Wife and I visit about once per month.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank soulpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    26
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Singaporean food... YUM!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Located in Southern Village, this place has great food whether you go for lunch or dinner. My favorite lunch dish -- and the name doesn't do it justice -- is the "duck salad wrap". There used to be a dish on the menu that was made of braised tofu cubes flavored with fish sauce. If you ask Simon (one of the owners), he'll have the kitchen make it for you.

If you go for dinner, have Simon make you a martini to sip while you peruse the menu -- it's one of the best in the area. My favorite dinner dish is their Peking Duck -- you have to give them a day's notice and it will be ready when you arrive. But, really, we've never had anything there that wasn't good.

Become a regular and Simon and Winnie, two of the owners, will "adopt" you -- they'll remember exactly what you like and don't like, where you like to sit, which family members you've brought to the restaurant in the past, and will always make you feel as if you've walked into a close friend's home.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I treat myself to lunch here about twice a month. Each time I try something different on the menu. I have yet to find something that I would not order again. My all-time favorite is the Singapore Laksa. Very relaxed atmosphere with a friendly, knowledgeable staff, who always aim to please.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadscholar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
224 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“good place”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

we get takeout here a number of times per year. Kids like the pad thai - I think it has the very best green curry around. Understand that local folks from Singapore like the place, too.

If ordering takeout, ask for double/extra rice or make it at home - they are a little skimpy. 3 or so dishes can feed a family with three small kids (6-10 yrs old).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simnznc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and delicious !”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Service was attentive, friendly and efficient. Dinner was really great. Two of us had seafood, one a chicken dish, and one a meat dish. All delicious, with fresh ingredients.
Atmosphere was peaceful. It was a Sunday night and not too busy, then a group of University students from Singapore came in for dinner. ( the wait staff told us). That speaks well for the cuisine, I think. All in all a very pleasant evening.
And they have a take out menu!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyBsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merlion also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing