We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merlion - CLOSED

Merlion
Cuisines: Thai, Chinese, Asian, Singaporean, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
NC
Level Contributor
216 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

we get takeout here a number of times per year. Kids like the pad thai - I think it has the very best green curry around. Understand that local folks from Singapore like the place, too.

If ordering takeout, ask for double/extra rice or make it at home - they are a little skimpy. 3 or so dishes can feed a family with three small kids (6-10 yrs old).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simnznc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    26
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and delicious !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Service was attentive, friendly and efficient. Dinner was really great. Two of us had seafood, one a chicken dish, and one a meat dish. All delicious, with fresh ingredients.
Atmosphere was peaceful. It was a Sunday night and not too busy, then a group of University students from Singapore came in for dinner. ( the wait staff told us). That speaks well for the cuisine, I think. All in all a very pleasant evening.
And they have a take out menu!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyBsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I go to Merlion's about every other week. Lunch prices are a great value for freshly prepared delicious Singapore food. Dinner is nice as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PurpleChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A taste of Singapore in Chapel Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Merlion serves unique dishes from Singapore and other regions of Southeast Asia. These dishes could be a little difficult to find unless you are in a big city. They even have a Gluten Free menu! Something that is rarely offer in other restaurants. I love the Singapore Laksa, Hainanese chicken, Ginger beef, many dishes that are with rice noodle, and almost forgot to mention the Merlion sampler is a great appetizer platter to share. The staff is very nice and helpful. We love it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaM922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
253 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Excellent pan-asain cusine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had dinner here recently as a family and liked our experience and the food.
Food; The menu is a mix of various dishes from Asia, with a focus on Singapore. We had the Roti Parata with Chicken Curry (Excellent), the Singapore Hainanese Chicken Rice (Excellent), Sizzling Tofu (Excellent). Previously we also tried the Green Curry and it was OK, a little too watery and not enough flavor. They have a decent wine and drink list.
Ambiance: Nice ambiance, well appointed. Feels like a neighborhood restaurant, cozy and comfortable.
Service: Generally good. Our waitress was a absent at times, but aimed to please when she stopped by.
Overall, this will be a restaurant we will frequent often.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Khaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merlion also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing