We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Solid Food”

Captain John's Dockside
Ranked #123 of 296 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Solid Food”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We recently went for an early dinner on Sunday afternoon. The food was very good, and of course the prices were excellent. I had the Linguini Fra Diavolo with shrimp and scallops; it was spicy and very flavorful. My wife had soft shell crambs. They were deep fried, rather than pan fried, but tasty. The food came out a bit slowly, but it was worth the wait. For solid, well prepared seafood at a reasonable price, you won't go wrong.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DocWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great sea food!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Good and fresh sea food! We were in a big group and ordered 7 different dishes, including salmon and shrimp, and they were all delicious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood, Genuine Folks, Awesome Experience!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Keeping an open mind on my first visit to this local seafood joint blew me away.

Fresh quality fish at an unbelievably fair price.

The individual below couldn't possibly have communicated her displeasure To the right folks, as the only issue our family has experienced in the half dozen times we've had dinner here, the owner promptly corrected & apologized even though it wasn't technically the restaurants fault.

You really owe it to yourself to give this restaurant a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KaseyKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Greek Seafood is the Charm!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Captain John is a remarkable Chef with a strong Greek heritage and a ton of charm. He will gladly make his Greek specialties for you if you just ask .... and they are fantastic! Last night we were a party of four and had:

A glass of Ouzo to start. Then Greek style mussels in white wine and olive oil with oregano - this was a memorable appetizer. One of us had oysters on the half shell and said they were great.

This was followed by a beautiful fresh Greek salad for prepared with perfect spices and dressing.

Then 3 entrees:

1. Home-made crab cakes with almost no breading, just a delicious crust, tons of crab and a remoulade sauce on the side.
2. Whole red snapper broiled with lemon and olive oil. Crispy on the outside and flaky and moist inside.
3. Shrimp Mykonos - a pasta dish with a heavenly tomato sauce that has melted feta cheese in it and mixed with tender shrimp.

The meal was simply wonderful and the waiter (Quinton) was attentive and skilled. Captain John is welcoming, warm and a great person to talk with. After the meal, he met us at the door of the restaurant with some fresh oregano from Greece to take home.

This was a memorable evening and meal. Try the Greek specialties and enjoy! You will be very pleased.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RonNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach Shores, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Request to meet the "Captain!" John is his name”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Quentin served us with a purpose and a passion. He was great! And the opportunity to meet the owner was our greatest pleasure. Yes! Great food! Great service! and oh yes request to say hello to the owner John he is amazing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain John's Dockside also viewed

 

Been to Captain John's Dockside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing