We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love It! Best Indian Cuisine I have ever eaten”

Vimala's Curryblossom Cafe
Ranked #25 of 289 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Southeastern, NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Love It! Best Indian Cuisine I have ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

While visiting our child in Chapel Hill, I tried to eat here as often as possible just because it is different and delicious. It is way too hot and spicy for my husband and one of our children. The other child loves it also. The Chloe Bowl with Bhatura is so delicious and so is the Masala Dosa with potato bhaji. I have eaten at other Indian Restaurants and this one is the best I have tried. For dessert, the Lavender Cake and Cardamon Brownie are excellent. Like the atmosphere too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UnbiasedTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    36
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best place in Chapel Hill!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I think this is the best place in Chapel Hill. They have amazing food and service, and with Vimala's progressive policies (feeding those who can't afford to pay for the food, living wages, etc), it's very representative of "excellence with a heart"- what the city/university aspire to be. I'm also very thankful for all the vegan options!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

As a Brit living in Chapel Hill finding good Indian food was a necessity. Here we find home style food of fantastic quality without bells and whistles - just like my home town, Leicester, in the UK. If you want sophistication go down the road. If you want affordable, high quality food cooked with love go no further. This is a place we go back to time after time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Like Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

First, a note about the location: this place is a little tricky to find. The only sign for Vimala's doesn't face you if you're approaching from Franklin, so it's easy to miss. It helps to know that it's just a few steps around the corner from Kipo's at the corner of Franklin and Roberson, and that there's a dark green canopy over the entrance. In this very welcoming, family-owned restaurant, there is something to feed everybody -- vegan, vegetarian, or omnivore -- from vegetarian curries to barbequed pork. (Actually, our party of three included a vegan, a vegetarian and an omnivore!). Vimala uses only meats from animals that have been humanely raised, important to carnivores who know much about factory farming. The menu prices are modest, especially considering the high quality (largely local) ingredients. Vimala hails from the Indian state of Kerala, which explains a lot about her restaurant. Kerala is renowned as a state where community spirit is paramount. This is reflected in Vimala's attitude about feeding people, and she has a knack for making people feel at home (and hiring like-minded people). She pays her staff a living wage and has a policy of feeding people gratis if they are hungry but unable to pay. So much for the civic spirit of the place. It also happens to be a very, very good restaurant. Some Indian food aficionados might find the Indian menu items a little on the bland side, but this is the south of the US, not India, and the local residents aren't noted for their tolerance of spicy food. Your order can be spiced up if you ask for it; the staff is very willing to please. Sometimes there are live musicians in the courtyard, too. It's a great place to relax and enjoy yourself, alone or in a group.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meredeschats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful local food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The food at Vimala's cafe is excellent. You also get the pleasure of supporting a local business that is invested in the community. You will feel right at home in the Cafe - Vimala makes you feel like one of her family members / neighbors.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dusetzina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vimala's Curryblossom Cafe also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Vimala's Curryblossom Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing