We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent catering delivery as well as eat in dining”

Vimala's Curryblossom Cafe
Ranked #25 of 292 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent catering delivery as well as eat in dining”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A great combination of Asian and southern cooking -- pulled pork barbeque. The creativity in the menu and execution of food choices is impressive. Our first experience was in-restaurant dining which is informal and casual. Most recently we had Vimala cater an outside event which was equally delightful. Highly recommend for either way of enjoying these culinary treats.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    38
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lots of vegetarian options!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Good food with vegan, vegetarian, and gluten-free options . Vegetarian samosas and any or their special of the day are a must try. Leave room for dessert they are good too! Friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaM922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyed eating outside - good food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a birthday dinner with about 15 folks. Arrived early, so went to the bar. They have good beer selections, although only 4 or 5 on tap. The rest in bottles. The Indian food tasted good, it's reasonably priced. They are accomodating to vegetarians, vegans, and gluten-free. Service was pleasant and fast. The outdoor dining on this beautiful spring night was pleasant. The place was fairly full most of the night. I would certainly go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickwfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So very impressed with the food and service...”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a wonderful time at Vimala's Cafe today. We arrived early (15 mins before open), and were greeted, seated (even though its self-seating), and watered immediately. I work nomadically for a living, and have spent many a day in Indian establishments, some generic, some unique, some amazing. Vimala's hits the last two square on the head! Perfectly spiced, huge dosa's, great tea options (and Kapi - cumin flavored espresso), and all from local farm-raised, non-corporate base ingredients. Literally every member of the staff except the back cooks stopped to say hello, and ask if we needed anything - every single time they passed by.

I can't say enough, and won't say more... JUST GO!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
307 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Average Indian Food / Poor Service”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I went with numerous colleagues to eat at this socially responsible restaurant. The Indian owner is known for giving a lot back to the Chapel Hill community. Both of us are huge lovers of Indian cuisine. We have had great Indian food in India, London, and Vancouver, BC. Upon numerous rave reviews, we decided to try out Vimala's Curryblossom Café.
For a Monday night, the place was rather busy. One orders their food like a fast food restaurant. There was only one cashier and her order taking was extremely slow. The line started to snake through the restaurant before we could place our order. My husband exclaimed, “Thank goodness we are not at the end. It will take them 30 minutes to just order their food!” Getting adult beverages with our meals is rather confusing as there is a bar in the other room. We had to ask how we could get two pints of Kingfisher beer (We were thrilled to see it on tap).
We ended up ordering Tandoori Chicken Thali – a large platter with a sampling of many small dishes, including basmati rice, dal, vegetable bhaji, chutneys, raita, chappati and pappadum. An order of naan was added to our meal. We also had some Pakoras. Vimala’s uses local farm-fresh vegetable to make these fritters that have a crunchy chickpea batter with cilantro and tangy-sweet tamarind chutneys. The seasoning was rather mild for Indian food. It may be suitable for the average American palate, but for lovers of good Indian food, it was way too bland. A friend of ours who has been to many Indian restaurants and sat next to us concurs with this analysis of the seasonings. Our dinner was rather large thus we were able to take some of it home.
The décor of Vimala’s is more like a fast food joint. The table and chairs were primitive. A TripAdvisor reviewer last year stated it correctly that it is like a "take out shack”. Since it is winter, cold air rushed in to the restaurant when the door was opened. One of our friends that ate with us was very cold and had to wear her coat while eating her dinner!
Service was extremely slow! My husband received his order after numerous other people who were behind us in line. My order took an additional twenty minutes to make it to my table! I was just about to go back to the cashier and ask her where our food was when the server finally came with my food. The staff made apologies for the extremely long wait for food, but this was not good enough for the average fare and lousy service.
This is definitely not one of the four best restaurants in Chapel Hill, and it is certainly not the place to go for good Indian food. The next time we want good Indian food, we will have to go to Morrisville and Cary as they have numerous Indian restaurants due to their large Indian population.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagyarNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vimala's Curryblossom Cafe also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Vimala's Curryblossom Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing