We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Indian Food, presented with style.”
Review of Raaga

Raaga
Reserve with OpenTable
Raaga is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 292 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hamilton Rd.
Description: Located in the Triangle Area of North Carolina, Raaga Restaurant & Lounge offers the best fine Indian cuisine served in an upscale, authentic Indian ambiance. Dive into our splendid menu, featuring a collection of authentic recipes that have been passed down for generations. Internationally-known chef Durga Prasad creates a cuisine that is as sophisticated as it is intoxicating. Each brilliant dish is a celebration of flavor that reflects our dedication and passion for the culinary arts.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food, presented with style.”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I visited Saffron of Chapel Hill in December of 2011 with a restaurant.com coupon we'd been looking forward to using. We were not disappointed. We went for the whole experience: appetizers, drinks, two courses, and dessert. Everything was brought out in perfect time and just as it was ready to be presented. We've had some restaurants lately bring the appetizers just minutes before the main course, so we're a little on our guard for that. Saffron's staff did it masterfully. We had time to enjoy and digest each course before the next came, and we left with some for later!

I'm not much of a spicy food eater, and I recommend you ask the server how spicy a dish is. I came close to ordering "the hottest thing on the menu," and would not have been able to take it, based on what I ended up ordering. The food was delicious, the drinks were high quality, and the service was impeccable. If you have any interest in samping Indian cuisine, this is a great place to start.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bzkarasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    19
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Momalita
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“wonderful dinner”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We went to this restaurant mid week and had a great experience. Our waitress was quite knowledgeable and recommended some dishes. There were four in our party and we wound up ordering several appetizers and shared three entrees along with a bread platter.
I would return to Saffron again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Momalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious -- Recommended for lunch $$”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Went with family and friends for lunch because we'd heard that dinner was pricey. I recommend the mixed bread basket, the Malabar Machali or any of their vegetarian dishes, and lassi. When you're in need of an attractive atmosphere after a long day at the office, you'll appreciate Saffron. We'll be returning.

The waiter was attentive without intruding on the conversation.

There's plenty of parking, no small matter in Chapel Hill.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILikedTheColor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Chapel Hill”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Saffron is a new Indian restaurant in Chapel Hill close to the Aloft Hotel. Moving beyond the usual variations on Indian food (tandoor, vindaloo, etc) this lovely restaurant has many unusual dishes. Although we are meat eaters we decided to have an all vegetarian meal starting with a beautiful platter of Vegetable Khazan with grilled paneer (home made cheese), Subz Galouti (vegetable and mushroom patty), Potli Samosa (potato and pea) and Aloo Tikki Chaana Chaat (chickpeas on top of potato patty), each delicious and unique. Then my wife had a large bowl of Daal Subz Shorba (soup) and I had Began Pasanda (smoked sliced eggplant marinated in a garlic-ginger paste on top of pureed eggplant, onion and tomato), Daal Bukhara ( black lentils, chickpeas and kidney beans), and jalapeno naan. The waiter was knowledgeable about the food and the great beers they have by the bottle and microbrews on tap. The space is beautiful and there is a large private room for parties.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cvdhmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
“Caring management and great food”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We recently had a poor experience at Saffron, and tried to resolve the issue several times. The management assured me that they were working to resolve it, but after over a month and a half, nothing was resolved for an overcharge.

However, when Nicole (the manager) got around to helping me out, she went to all lengths to make sure that we were taken care of and to ensure that our first experience was an exception. We were invited back for a meal on the house and thoroughly enjoyed the food and the service. Overall, though we had a bad experience to begin with, Nicole did a great job in making sure that our next visit was outstanding.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raaga also viewed

 

Been to Raaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing