We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aloft Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Chapel Hill
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I have spent two wedding anniversaries here and really enjoyed it. Although we have traveled the world and at times go to other locales on our wedding anniversary, for these two particular times we had to stay somewhat local. Staff were friendly, hotel was very clean and modern, and it was fun to take a dip in the pool, relax at xyz with some snacks, play a board game in the lobby or play a game of pool.

I would like to see a comfortable couch or sitting area in the room itself, but that is something Aloft needs to look into - not this particular hotel's fault.

Breakfast staff went out of their way to make us a made-to-order breakfast. Yes, you can order breakfast from the kitchen - there are foods in the grab and go area, but also can order breakfast.

Just a fun little staycation for our wedding anniversary. Enjoyed working out in the exercise room as well. Aloft is a neat little brand of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    144
    52
    16
    18
See reviews for
130
88
28
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I guess I'm just traditional, but I don't like the concrete/stark look. It was ok, but in a good location. There are a couple of restaurants, a nail salon, and a couple of good boutique shops. I shopped there when I needed to look nice for an event.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Workshopnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I would recommend staying here. It's only about 20 minutes from the Raleigh airport and it's about a 5 minute drive to the main street of Chapel Hill & Carrboro. There's parking, a bar that opens until 2 am that also serves food, and a 24-hour cafe area where you can get anything you want. The front desk is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are spacious, definitely have a starwood feel with a simple chic tone. Flat screen tvs, Bliss Spa shampoos, lotions, soaps. Huge sink area with iron and hairdryer and the bathrooms are new and modern. There's also a pool and pretty nice fitness center. There's a pool table in the lobby & free wifi in rooms & lobby. They give you complimentary water in the room. I think parking costs $6 per day. If you're visiting chapel hill, you should definitely rent a car because they're a lot cheaper than cabs. A one way cab ride to the hotel from the airport is $45.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooper617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield, ct
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

First time stay at Aloft, to visit our daughter at UNC. Great location, super convenient to the school, and a very affordable price were the two main reasons we decided to try it. The 'W' style shows through as the lobby and bar areas are modern and full of energy. When we stayed there were alot of 20 somethings also staying there and they were playing pool, working out, swimming in the pool or having a cocktail. The rooms are adequate. We had two queens (for me, my wife and our son). The only storage in the room is a small closet space opposite the sink, so travel light when you go. The bathroom area is nicely appointed. The sleeping area is ok, beds are decent, pillows were too soft for our tastes. A wall mounted flat screen TV made for good entertainment and I loved the retro alarm clock, which was easy to set. The hotel offers breakfast but no other meals, however, there are a couple of good restaurant choices steps away (We dined at Piola, a good choice). Overall, a good choice and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: They have complimentary newspapers such as WSJ and USA Today available in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeandsheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

quiet, comfortable, clean, close to UNC Aloft is a gem. Guests do not have to leave the hotel to find almost any need for a pleasant stay. Just outside and in the neighborhood are stores, restaurants and night life for the more adventurous. A complete hotel and a delightful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank endlessummer7084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

First stay for two of us at this nice hotel on a main road in Chapel Hill. Booked the AAA breakfast package for two which is advertised on their website as including: " breakfast credit of up to $10 per day, for up to two people." In reality you are given a coupon for up to a $6 breakfast. A bit annoying especially since they also charge $6 a day for self parking.
We were put in a room on the road side and quickly realized that the road noise was pretty bad. Requested to move to another room facing away from the road and this was much better.
Overall a very nice hotel with value pretty good for money spent.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in a room on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da_fiveducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
486 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here in May 2012 while visiting family.

Parking free, adequate.
Public spaces clean.
Staff helpful.
Room nicely appointed and clean.
Nearby mall convenient for shopping, dining.
Good value for money.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
1.9 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#8 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chapel Hill

Property: Aloft Chapel Hill
Address: 1001 S Hamilton Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-4409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#10 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Chapel Hill is by UNC's Campus, area universities, Research Triangle Park, and RDU Airport. Our hotel has 1,600sq ft of meeting/event space, free wifi, an indoor pool, and w xyz, a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing