We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average with chaotic service”
Review of Mint

Mint
Reserve with OpenTable
Mint is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 292 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average with chaotic service”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Having heard a lot about Mint we went there for the first time a week ago. When we called for reservations we were told that we should put our name in and just show up i.e. unclear if we did or did not have reservations! When we arrived, there was a line to get seated and everyone seemed to be similarly confused about whether they had reservations. The staff were running around as if in a state of mild panic.

After we were seated, it did not take long to get served though there was a definite feeling that we were "being processed" so the table could be turned over. When our drinks came, the waitress had no clue which glass was the chardonnay and which one was the sauvignon blanc. The food arrived speedily and was tasty with about average spicing for a restaurant offering north Indian fare. The quantities were ample, but the palak paneer had 4 little cubes of paneer in it. This kind of short-changing is standard at cheap Indian restaurants but we were surprised that a place which gets such rave reviews would do it.

The menu is varied but traditional. There was not much about our food that reflected the creative Indian cuisine that is rapidly becoming popular in major metropolitan areas in the United States. In that sense, the food seemed more like home-style cooking.

There are far too many Indian restaurants in the Triangle area to recommend Mint. Perhaps with better service and a more welcoming feel, the experience might have been more positive. As it was, we left with full stomachs and slightly jangled nerves!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SelectTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    10
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Best Indian food I've had in the states. Their eggplant dish is absolutely incredible, and you can order anything to spiciness. Service can be slow, but it's absolutely worth it. My favorite restaurant in Chapel Hill!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lilyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
241 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“My mouth still tingles with delight.”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We tried Mint for the first time tonight. What a wonderful surprise. Room is quite dark but quite well dressed. Sitar musician greeted us at entrance and played us in. Menus were presented and water glasses filled. Our waiter recommended salmon massala when we told him we prefer seafood. He also recommended shrimp chilly which I had my eye on. A salad to start was unremarkable but both dishes were amazing. Shrimp chilly was the hotter of the two and heat level was perfect. Salmon was milder but even more interesting. Saffron rice with peas filled out our plates and the naan was soft, fragrant and charred to perfection. Service was there when we wanted it. All in all, it was a great introduction to Mint. I'd like to work my way through the menu. It all sounds wonderful. Maybe someday we'll even leave room for dessert.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yahooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delightful Indian food, lunch buffet”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The lunch buffet is about the best in the area. There is a different selection of hot and cold dishes, with different flavors and spice intensity, every day. The staff is anxious to give advice and to help. My wife is allergic to dairy products, and the non-dairy selection was a bit meager today, so the manager quickly went back and made her a dairy-free chicken curry to supplement the items on the buffet -- no charge.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyger41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food - overpriced though.”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We'd hoped to go to the other Indian restaurant right beside Mint, but found it to be closed, and we wanted Indian food, so we strolled on over to Mint to satisfy our craving.

Walked in...looked like a nice upscale restaurant, there was a sitar player doing some live music. They seated us right behind the hostess stand. After about 10 min (we did get our water glasses filled), we had to flag down a server because apparently all the waiters assumed we were somebody else's table. She took our orders finally.

Food was good. Three of us had (xxx) masala. One chickpea, one chicken, one crabmeat. Mine could've been a little spicier, but that's on me, as I said 'spicy but not crazy'. Naan was good, samosa was good.

Problem is....dinner was ~$70 for three of us, three entrees, one cocktail, bread, and an order of samosas (2). It was good, and I don't mind paying for good food, but it wasn't twice as good as where we'd hoped to go, and it was twice the price. Also, the service (while more upscale) was less attentive.

Oh....and the sitar player was stuck on the three notes from "Thus spoke Zarathustra" which got a little annoying after a while, seeing how we were pretty close to him.

Doubt I'd go back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PboroBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mint also viewed

 

Been to Mint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing