We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of A Southern Season

A Southern Season
Ranked #1 of 13 Nightlife in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Roswell
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is so much fun to explore! It is a gourmet market with several different display counters where you can purchase various foods. There is a coffee bar, cold foods case, hot foods case, bakery display with pastries and cookies and lots and lots of chocolate and candy. My family and I like to get lunch here and take it out into the mall area and eat at the tables and people watch. We also like to pack up picnic lunches from here to take to the Duke Botanical Gardens. The salad bar is one of the best I've seen with lots of fresh vegetable choices and a fantastic olive selection. I agree with the other reviewers that this place can be pricey and you need to choose wisely. The grilled cheese sandwich is a winner for children.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    18
    9
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Kewl store!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was my 1st visit to Southern Seasons and I fell in love. I had several different pastries and we ordered 2 different sandwiches which were all fantastic. Some of the prices on some of their specialty packaged foods can run a bit high and some of the items can be found in your local grocery, so just be conscious shopper. Aside from that you have a great selection all all kinds of foods and spices, which the spices I found to be incredibly low priced, one of the best prices I've ever seen. Especially the fresh vanilla beans! Go, explore. You won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marialice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must-visit for a unique gourmet shopping experience”
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

I visit the area often for business and was told by the locals that this place was a must. It did not disappoint! In a land of chain stores and box restaurants, it is great to find a place with such unique offerings. From beautiful serving pieces to gourmet food ( smoked scallops to due for!) you can really go crazy in this store. The icing on the cake is the very friendly and knowledgable staff.

Helpful?
3 Thank wendeenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place to browse”
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

If you enjoy cooking or gourmet food you will likely love this place. A deli, cheese shop, coffee bar and candy shop are each tempting. They sell most any kitchen gadget you would want.

Helpful?
1 Thank travelun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice selection”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Lots of choice of food from around the world... A little expensive but when you need something different then this is the place to find it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank HamptonInnQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Southern Season also viewed

 

Been to A Southern Season? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing