We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip on Memorial Day weekend. The check in was fast and the lady gave suggestions for a late dinner and a voucher for a free appetizer. The room was small but the bed was very comfortable and and it was a quiet location. Convenient to UNC where I was shooting an early morning wedding. The morning staff allowed me to get a late check out so that I could shoot the wedding and come back to change later in the afternoon before a long drive home. I really appreciated that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieCantrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmilby, Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback. We try to make sure every guest has a wonderful stay. I will make sure all our staff see your comments. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Sincerely,
Ted Milby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    134
    48
    28
    5
See reviews for
106
56
37
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice clean room. Staff extremely polite and helpful. Nice outdoor pool with nice lounge chairs and the most comfortable beds! I had a great night sleep.. Exactly what I look for on a hotel. Oh yeah and even a great workout room! I will definitely sty here gain when I come back to the area.

Room Tip: Need to take shuttle to downtown chapel hill but its complimentary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitin K, General Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Chapel Hill. We take pride in making each guest experience a personalized service. We look forward to serving you soon.

Nitin Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

In town for a wedding, which meant several guests with the same last name reserved different rooms. We ended up getting the wrong bill- TWICE- for other family members. Our room had NO fan in the bathroom, one towel rack- placed in the shower, one robe to use by two guests, mold stains in shower, and great number of outlets (6), but all were poorly placed and we had to move furniture to access them. Only one side of the bed had a table, so the other person had to use the floor to set water on or plug in their iPhone. The decor was was a nice neutral color scheme and pictures on the walls were pretty. There was a full length mirror on the wall and nice modern lamps. We only had one chair for two people, and the desk was cluttered with the coffee maker, cups and free water. Nice wooden hangers, even for pants. Good bathroom amenities included shampoo/cond/lotion, cottenballs, cottenswabs and shower cap and nail file. No fridge, no newspaper. Beds and pillows were not comfortable. Breakfast was a $9 buffet that only suited non-vegan diets. Room service was HORRIBLE. We ordered after waiting on hold for 20 minutes, then after 45 minutes, they called back to say they didn't have the item we wanted! Our college daughter asked the front desk to shuttle to a mall 2 miles away and was told it only goes to campus. When the adults asked, it was confirmed that the shuttle goes ANYWHERE within 5 miles. That wasn't good service. Overall, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorPonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitin K, General Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Your feedback has been shared with each department manager. We are providing additional training to our team members so we can improve our services for future.

I hope you give us another when you visit Chapel Hill.

Thank you,

Nitin Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Attended training at UNC and stayed at the Sheraton. The hotel is off campus with approximately a 10 minute ride to where I was going on campus. I tool the shuttle everyday which was really nice. I scheduled my transportation in advance for every morning and afternoon. Breakfast and a restaurant are on site. Didn't really see anyone eating breakfast although they had a nice breakfast area. However, I did partake in the free Starbuck's coffee in the lobby every morning. The restaurant there was ok. Nothing fancy. I did have the opportunity to attend the Manager's Reception on Wednesday but again, nothing fancy. While not far from grocery, store shopping center and places to eat, the hotel is not in a walkable area with easy access. But again, there shuttle service. They do have a nice gym. Wasn't impressed with the hallways but the rooms were very nicely decorated on the inside. I loved my bed. Nice bedding accessories that may the stay awesome. Staff was friendly and provided assistant. However, my fridge did not seem to operate properly and no lockboxes available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrysTil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenCory, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and your positive feedback. We are in a great spot for easy travel on our complimentary shuttle to anywhere in a five mile radius. Our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed is always a winner with out guests and I am so glad to hear it was for you. We do offer complimentary safety deposit boxes secured in the office at the front desk, next time you come just ask one of our Guest Service Agents. We look forward to your next stay, and if there is anything I can do for your next visit please feel free to reach out to me personally.

Steven Cory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

During our spring break, we took our son down to visit Elon University and the University of North Carolina. We stayed at the Sheraton Chapel Hill during our visit. What a fabulous choice! It was in a perfect location with great amenities and was a spotless hotel. Thank you to the staff for your warm and friendly hospitality. We will definitely be back again when we are in the Chapel Hill area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitin K, General Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing a 5 star review. We appreciate you taking time to write about your wonderful experience at the Sheraton Chapel Hill. As you mentioned we are perfectly located between UNC, Duke and Elon. Our staff takes pride in making every guest experience a memorable one.

We look forward to your next visit to Chapel Hill.
Thank you,

Nitin Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, VA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The room was very comfortable and clean. The exercise facility had a great a variety of equipment. Remember to bring your ear-buds because each machine has its own screen & if you want to listen while exercising, you will need those. The breakfast was expensive so we didn't eat there. The hotel was easy to find and see from the road, but it was a little difficult to navigate getting to it. Just watch signs carefully to get on proper road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_McSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitin K, General Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay at the Sheraton Chapel Hill. I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit. We look forward to serving you soon.

Thank you,

Nitin Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Middle of the road Sheraton. Staff was adequately friendly. I stayed one night; arriving at 11:30pm and leaving at 8:30am. I wanted a Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed and a shower, and this hotel satisfied both requirements swimmingly.

As noted by other reviewers, the gym was surprisingly spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitin K, General Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I am glad you had a great experience with your recent stay at the Sheraton Chapel Hill. Our team goes an extra mile to make every guest feel special. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Nitin Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.4 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.2 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#8 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
#7 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel

Property: Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
Address: 1 Europa Dr, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#10 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel. Our Chapel Hill hotel delivers something unforgettable for everyone from exciting nightlife to thrilling local attractions and tons of outdoor adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Starwood so you can book your Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing