We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Chapel Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The newly renovated Siena Hotel is better than ever. The staff couldn't have been nicer, more attentive, or more professional, AND caring. One young lady in the dining room even offered to have someone get an out of town newspaper from a nearby Walgreens. Our room was spacious, quiet, and the new neutral décor is an improvement over the old darker colors of the past.
It's a great location, with shopping and whole foods nearby too. This is our 4th stay here, and this was the best ever. I was concerned that once they became part of a chain, it would loose its unique style and quality. But, it has only improved!

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms in the back, but even in the front, it's not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisela358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 486 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I spent just over a week at The Siena whilst in North Carolina for business meetings. The rooms are lovely, spacious and the beds comfortable. The welcoming fruit basket and handwritten card are also a charming touch. The in room coffee machines are also a delight! I found the food to be flavorful though the portions could have been more generous. The customer service was pretty good with rapid response times. The only 'but' in that regard is that after 10pm it proves close to impossible to make any requests which can be frustrating after a long day and night of work. I would also like to suggest they offer the shuttle to some shopping locations perhaps at a modest fee (given the shuttle is currently free for nearby locations). All in all, a lovely boutique style hotel with warm lovely decor and lovely staff. I highly recommend it!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Nyamisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Siena underwent a thorough facelift through much of 2013 after becoming a Marriott property. Amid an endless sea of chain hotels across the Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill area, it is a welcome stand-out, tucked away in a residential area near the University of North Carolina campus, yet only a short distance from Interstate 40.

The lobby has a striking old world look, populated by comfortable and classic furnishings. While it is a pleasant surprise to be directed to a seat by an antique desk during the check-in process, being greeted by a hotel employee perched on a wooden throne (certainly not a mere chair) seems a bit out of sync with gentile Southern hospitality.

Ascending to our fourth-floor rooms, it was quickly obvious that the elevator had been overlooked during the renovation but it finally crept its way to our destination.

How to describe the room decor? Updated? Yes. Upscale. Not quite. It was an attempt to bring a dash of Florence (think opulence) and other Italian touches to the interior that perhaps fell a bit short. Dominated by gold and silver metallic tones, there is almost a Las Vegas vibe that is decidedly not Siena-esque. And I argue this having walked the walled remains of Siena in Italy.

Having said that, I'd rather endure "Vegasiena", with its spacious walk-in showers and comfortable beds than any number of available cookie-cutter choices in the area. Breakfast the next morning in the lobby eatery, Il Palio, where Eggs Benedict is served with decadent prosciutto, only reinforced that conclusion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fourth floor facing the rear of the hotel. From this vantage point you can enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConservativeSoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed at the Siena the night of my wedding. The rooms were updated, clean, and very nice. I must say the staff goes the extra mile to make sure your stay is enjoyable. They knew my wife and I by name, took care of aranging transportation, had a to-go breakfast ready the following AM at my request, It is the little things that will make me come back and this hotel staff exceeded all my expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Spent an evening visiting with the admissions staff of Phillips Academy Andover in the lobby and meeting room of the The Siena Hotel . Beautiful hotel located right around the corner from the campus of UNC Chapel Hill. Extremely helpful staff and very elegant lobby. Would recommend this hotel for those coming to Chapel Hill and planning to spend the night during basketball or football season

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fields J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at The Sienna many times when visiting family in the area. In fact, one of my most pleasant memories of the Hotel was during our stay over Christmas in 1997, which was our first stay. The Hotel seemed so warm and elegant and the staff so welcoming and gracious.

Our last visit was in September of this year. It was our first visit in a few years and the first since the Hotel became part of the Marriott Hotel Autograph Collection. I didn't know what the Marriott relationship was, but I assumed that the Hotel would be the same top-of-the-line property it always had been, if not better.

I could not have been more wrong.

From the minute we arrived at the Hotel, we were accosted by the noise in the small lobby area where a small musical group was playing, and the music was bouncing off all the hard surfaces. It was so loud that the person handling our check-in and I could not hear each other without shouting.

As we were led to our room, the bellman was so busy telling us about how impressed we would be with the recent renovations that he seemed not to notice the rather large hole in the wall in the elevator foyer of our floor. It would have been difficult to miss because instead of the rich, warm tones of Italy with equally appealing artwork throughout the hallways, the new décor was primarily shiny, metallic wallpaper with no artwork on the walls. The overall feeling was cold and garish.

The staff with whom we dealt were pleasant enough, just not well trained. They were lacking the polished, professionalism of previous visits.

Nonetheless, we decided to give The Sienna another try and made a reservation for the upcoming Christmas holiday, and approximately three weeks ago, we tried reaching the Restaurant Manager to find out about meals which are being planned for Christmas Eve and Day. My husband was able to reach him once, but the manager did not have the information to answer our questions so he promised to get back to us in a day or two. That did not happen. We have placed three additional calls, the most recent one to David, the Director of F&B; neither person has bothered to return our calls.--And, btw, each call was placed in the early evening, and each time, we could hear the music blaring in the background as we spoke with the Reception Desk. Evidently, a musical group playing in the lobby, only feet away from the Reception Desk, is a regular feature.

Based upon the lack of response from the staff and the possibly renovated, but less than welcoming, environment of The Sienna, we checked the Carolina Inn website. It not only had guest accommodations available but information about Christmas Eve and Day meals, including detailed menus!

We have cancelled our upcoming reservation at The Sienna and will be staying at the more gracious Carolina Inn. We do not intend to stay at The Sienna again if we can help it, and I would recommend the same to anyone else looking for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ss3994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our first visit to Chapel Hill (go Heels!) and the Siena Hotel staff made it great! From the moment we checked in, we felt welcome and special. The staff was very helpful and recommended things to do in the area and places to dine. Rooms were exceptional in decor, comfort and cleanliness. Shuttle service is available to every where, took us to the basketball game twice, dropped and picked us up very close and several restaurants in the area.
Ryan and Miguel deserve special praise as they were both of great assistance. Ryan recommeded excellent dining places!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay there again!

Room Tip: King studio had a sitting area and dining table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TarH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
1.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,402 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
500 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
494 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
466 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1505 E Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-2852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $194 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chapel Hill, North Carolina, The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection is a gathering place perfect for retreats, meetings, weddings, and romantic getaways. Old world charm is met with modern amenities throughout the property. Rooms and suites are spacious and feature comfortable living areas, Juliet Balconies, and large marble bathrooms. Outside enjoy the southern skies to dine, lounge, or play the iconic Italian game of Bocce. Experience Il Palio, which like its namesake festival, brings people together in celebration. Chefs strive to emulate the best of the great Italian tradition of hospitality and quality at the table and in the glass. The vision is simple - use the best local and Italian ingredients as purely as possible and serve them with comfort and pride. Your Italian Villa is 1.5 Miles from the University of North Carolina, 7 miles from Duke University, and 16 miles from Raleigh-Durham International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siena Hotel Chapel Hill
Siena Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing