We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best forest near Asheville

We were so excited to find out almost every park in NC had free admissions. We are use to paying... read more

Reviewed yesterday
wanderlust146
,
Indianapolis, Indiana
Beautiful Hiking Trails

Loved the hikes we did here! To see the High, Triple, and Hooker falls you can hike an easy 3 miles... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Sarah K
,
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
via mobile
Read all 656 reviews
  
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveler rating
549
97
4
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
549
97
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews covered bridge triple falls high falls hooker falls hunger games parking lot visitor center great hiking little river bridal veil falls porta potties parking area mile hike maintained trails easy hiking falls area mountain biking
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 652 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We were so excited to find out almost every park in NC had free admissions. We are use to paying admissions fee at almost every park in our home state. DuPont did not disappoint. Hooker falls was an easy hike with a swimming area for the summer months. Triple Falls was more of a hike to the 'look out point' and was a bit crowded and limited there. We enjoyed just walking along the stream up to the base of the Triple Falls...we spent an hour just relaxing and shooting photography there.

Thank wanderlust146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the hikes we did here! To see the High, Triple, and Hooker falls you can hike an easy 3 miles on perfectly maintained trails. It’s a pretty popular route, so it might be busy, but going during a weekday slims our the crowd.

Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our family’s second visit here in a few years. Last time the kids were a bit too little for much. We walked to Hooker Falls, which was nice but underwhelming, and then to High Falls, which has just a couple minutes of moderate terrain and is otherwise easy. We came back to High Falls this trip and weren’t disappointed. It’s a great walk for school age kids, just easy enough for them to manage fully without help, and the view is breathtaking. We then went on to Triple Falls, which is a much harder journey. We made it, but we were all doneforthe day afterwards. The steps to access the Falls were a bit much, coupled with a lot of uphill walking on the return journey. The parking is plentiful and the restrooms were clean.

2  Thank jonginat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been fortunate to hike Dupont State Forest on multiple occasions. Winter is often overlooked but can give a winter wonderland view of the spectacular forest and river which is mostly enjoyed in spring, summer, and fall months. We went for a brisk hike in January and found nature covered in ice and snow. The trails are well maintained so with a little careful stepping on our part, we had a very enjoyable time. The frozen waterfalls were amazing! If you've never hike Dupont following a snowfall, I would highly recommend you do so. You will not be disappoointed! Check out my pics!

Thank DebbieBuchanan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

We were two families with kids ages 4 to 7 and it was a perfect hike for our group. Hike had clear, gravel paths with a few off shoots that were mildly more rugged for a taste of actual hiking for the kids. We saw High Falls and Triple Falls while hiking the High Falls loop. Make the extra effort to go down to the base of High Falls- it’s neat and the kids love the waterfall spray. Bring water and even some snacks. Kids move slow so it takes a bit. They liked snacking at the Falls.

Thank hmlars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

This month we chose the waterfall hike, and the trail was so easy we covered the 6.4 miles at 10:45, so we went to Brevard for our picnic lunch. We started at the High Falls parking lot and saw Triple Falls, High Falls and Bridal Veil Falls plus the covered bridge. We should have taken the little trail by the Lake Julia spillway to see the lake. Many mountain bike trails too. Nice visitor center with rocking chairs on the front porch to finish your trail mix after the hike.

Thank Sightsee_Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

We stopped in at the visitor center and enjoyed a walk to High Falls, Triple Falls, and the covered bridge. The trail is well maintained and easy to hike. A bit steep in places but easy enough to handle. The views are great.

Thank williamo126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

We've been here many times and have always been in awe of the beauty of this place. Whether hiking to the main waterfalls or finding a trail and hiking out in the woods we've never been disappointed in how the trails or the visitor center is kept up and maintained. The Reasonover Creek trail to Lake Julia was our latest hike and once again we were in awe of all the beauty on the trail and around Lake Julia. I will say that if you don't get there early you may not get a parking spot. This is a very popular place.

Thank Perry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

High Falls, Hooker Falls, Triple Falls are all different, all spectacular. As our grandchildren become old enough we take them to DuPont to hike to the falls. They are amazed. Sadly, the trails are a great attraction for the trail bikers who show little regard for those on foot. So, if possible, schedule your visit outside the tourist season and watch your rear.

Thank NCMstGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Cant beat the price (free!). Outstanding scenery, very walkable and well maintained trails, and scenery is simply beautiful.

Thank Granicus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews