We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Atmosphere”

The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the meal, service and wow factor when "Bosco" the Bear strolled by our window and through the meadow. The crab cakes were amazing and the chef even customized a steak dish for us that was not on the menu. Very friendly, fabulous food! Not your typical menu!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sunshinegal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 307 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Wonderful restaurant in Cashiers. We eat there every time we go to Cashiers. The service is great and the food is delicious. The pork tender was great and the sweet potato sides were a perfect match. Trout, ribeye and fried anything is always a sure bet.

Thank YorkeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been to the Orchard numerous times…it is one of our favorites!
The food is consistently delicious…love their fried green tomatoes as well as their Orchard chicken…fresh, delicious flavors.
Good service, wine…always packed. We will be back..must have reservations...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KSH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently had dinner here and were very pleased with the service and food. There was a large party in the same room with us who were somewhat loud, but this did not detract from our experience. We started with the Fried Green Tomatoes. Excellent. Of our party of seven, we had the Trout Almondine, Continental Divide Trout (with crabmeat stuffing) Shrimp and Grits, Chicken and Duck. Each of us was very pleased with our food. Portions were large. Our service was very good. By the time we left there were not many people in the restaurant, but we did not feel pressed to leave. Prices were reasonable. We will definitely return to this restaurant when we are in the area again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LynnMoore50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Upon entering we could tell it was very loud for the number of diners. Our server was...pitiful. I could swear the mashed potatoes were instant. The fish was bland and the almond topping burned. The vegetables were overcooked and...floppy. A poor choice on our part considering the number of truly good restaurants in the area. It makes me a little nervous to use Tripadvisor after this restaurant received a #1rating.
With options such as Cornucopia, The Gamekeepers Tavern and Mica's nearby, we will never return to this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TLF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad B, Owner at The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

TLF123 from Cincinnati:

First and foremost, we are truly sorry you were apparently not satisfied during your visit to The Orchard. As most of our guests have a positive experience, yours seems to be an anomaly.

Even with having at least one owner-operator on the premises at all times, we are having difficulty pinpointing your visit. We only wish we could have had the opportunity to correct any errors when you were here.

It is our goal to consistently provide the best food and service possible, in a pleasant dining atmosphere. If there was error in preparation that led to your dislike in the taste of our food, or a lacking in service, we sincerely apologize and will review your comments with our staff.

In regards to your thoughts about our mashed potatoes (or any of our menu offerings), they are far from being instant. Our local produce purveyors who deliver 50 pound bags of potatoes can attest to that!

Thank you for your comments. We will use them only to improve our operation for future dining experiences. We hope you will consider visiting us again and allow us to prove our merit.

Chad Boswell
The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn also viewed

Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 
Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing