We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience”

The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a lovely evening at The Orchard Restaurant last week. We were visiting friends in the North Carolina mountains and wanted to have a relaxing meal. The Orchard provided everything that we expected and more. We had a slight problem getting a reservation on a Thursday evening so plan ahead since it is a very popular place. The staff was very helpful. We ate on the screened in porch which was very comfortable. Olga directed us to a very nice bottle of Zinfandel (they only serve wine and beer) and we started with a goat cheese appetizer that was was more of an ante pasta and was delicious. Everyone raved about each delight that included mussels, trout and ravioli. I do not think you could go wrong with anything on the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolJ53082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    54
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A nice "find" in Cashiers for comfortable, quality dining”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our hosts at the cottage we rented in the Cashiers area recommended The Orchard and we weren't disappointed. This restaurant had a nice comfy southern feel to it, had very good food, and the wait staff was friendly (although service was a bit slow, we weren't in a hurry). The Shrimp and grits were excellent and my wife had a trout dish (there were several different trout offerings) that was also quite good. Desserts were solid and they did have wine and beer (apparently this hadn't been the case in the past due to a formerly dry county). We were very pleased with the overall experience and wouldn't hesitate to come back or to recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Cashier's Best Restaurant”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have been eating at the Orchard since it opened many years ago. It is always a good evening when you go there. The Southern American cuisine is the best around. Trout and other seafood choices always available and consistently fresh and well prepared. Beef, chicken, pork and the best vension I've ever had round out a diverse menu. Try the chicken livers and the fried green tomatoes.

Nice folks own the place. Chad and Travis are like old friends now. We swap news about kids and grandkids and whatever else seems newsy at the time.

One note- you can't bring your own wine anymore. They now sell wine and beer. The wine list is pretty good for their first try, but appropriate wine glasses should be next. I thought their wine prices were fair.

If you are in Cashiers and are wondering where to go for a good meal in a quaint setting, try the Orchard. It will become your favorite place here too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville
1 review
“A Diamond in the Rough...”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I just had the most incredible meal for our 31st anniversary at The Orchard in Cashiers, NC. The menu was truly unique, and our server, Bobby, was an absolute delight. He has lived in WNC for 38 years, and his knowledge of the menu items was only exceeded by his wit and charm. It's about an hour and twenty-minute ride from our house to the restaurant, and it was well worth it! We began our meal with a champagne toast and then proceeded to devour our two appetizers: fried green tomatoes with a bacon horseradish sauce, and Boswell's crab cakes, lump crabmeat blended with herbs and seasonings and cooked to a golden brown, and served with a honey mustard sauce.
Next came two incredible entrees, both hard to find in our local restaurants (which are never up to the task). My wife enjoyed three (count 'em, three) free range, all natural Australian lamb chops marinated and char-grilled, transferred to a saute pan and flamed with a pecan and apricot brandy sauce. I chose the venison: lemon pepper rubbed pan roasted venison rack chop served with a wild blueberry and port wine sauce, crumbled blue cheese and fried Vidalia onion rings. The venison was as tender as any filet mignon, and the sauce was to die for.
To conclude our meal, Travis, the maitre d', knowing it was our anniversary, sent over a wonderful chocolate brownie with vanilla ice cream, topped with a burning candle. What a great way to finish a perfect evening.
If you're ever in Western North Carolina, and you want to enjoy a truly unique dining experience, I highly recommend the Orchard in Cashiers.
http://www.theorchardcashiers.com/index.html

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catsklgd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cashiers Spot for Dinner”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have been hearing about this spot in Cashiers for a couple of years and decided to go for our anniversary. The weather was delightful and we were seated at a table on the screened porch facing the back of the restautrant. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. We both ordered duck and were both very pleased with this entree. Our companions ordered two differant prepartions of trout and both were delicious. This is not an everyday place as it is a little pricey but its great for a special treat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn also viewed

Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing