We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The Orchard never fails to please. Food and service some of the best in North Carolina. Quaint old restaurant with lots of charm. Wait staff are most attentive and food is tasty and always spot on.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    54
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a lovely evening....”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We ate at the Orchard twice during a recent trip to the Highlands-Cashiers area....once as a couple and later in the week with a larger family group. The atmosphere is rustic mountain elegance...some seating outside on a back patio....and the rooms overlook the back garden, in which darling little girls were picking wildflowers in one visit. They are serious about the food...local goat cheese with olives and sundries tomatoes was very good..braisd prik short ribs rocked it...as did a chicken breast stuffed with chevre, chanterelles and spinach. Friendly service...and also fabulous...it is BYOB, as Cashiers is dry! You won't be sorry I'd you go there. We loved both meals...

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamiltonshabitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Always Good but Pricy”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Best of Service, Best of food, great atmosphere pricy. Good location in Cashiers

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank landyachty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Orchard is an outstanding favorite of mine”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Cashiers NC is a welcome escape from the heat of Atlanta's summer. Enjoying the cool air, the mountain views and dinner at the Orchard makes for a great weekend. The food here is very good. The number of cars in the parking lot on a Friday or a Saturday night tells you it is a popular spot with locals and visitors. Reservations are a good idea if you want to avoid being disappointed. The menu is interesting ... some specials and stand by dishes like mountain trout and shrimp and grits. Everything I have ordered with the exception of a soup has been very good. The county is a dry one so you can brown bag your own wine and the staff will pour it up. People do and it works well. Last weekend our waiter added a little local history about how some of the dishes are named just enough to be interesting . The Orchard is a great place to have dinner... I hope to enjoy it several times this summer.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We had dined at this restaurant a few years ago while visiting Cashiers and enjoyed it. Decided to try it again and were not dissapointed. My husband and I were offered a table outside on the patio. Really nice being next to the flower garden. Our meal was wonderful and our waiter served us well. Wish I remembered her name. We ordered mussels for an app. and dinners were the sauteed rainbow trout and shrimp & grits. Delicious! Don't forget to take your wine since they do offer brown bagging here.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn also viewed

Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 
Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to The Orchard Restaurant & Events Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing