We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tread carefully - some will enjoy others will not”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Hampton Inn & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
346 reviews
310 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Tread carefully - some will enjoy others will not”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The HHI is a contradiction - if you understand and like the format you will enjoy it. If you don't pay attention before you book you may be disappointed.

The property is old and rustic. The wood is rough - cabin like. It is not polished and luxurious. You might expect to see a lumberjack walking through the lobby - except that it isn't allowed - jackets must be worn to dinner and in the lodge in the evening.

If you are able-bodied you will have no trouble getting around. If you are not you should think about alternatives. There is a lot of walking involved in getting to the cabins and most of it is on uneven surfaces.

The rooms lack air conditioning. If you visit after September or before June that won't be an issue. However the summer months may be quite warm. The rooms have fans - decide for yourself if that is adequate.

There is very spotty cell reception in the area. The lodge has wifi - some cabins are close enough to pick up the signal. It is an open connection (not password protected so use with caution).

Our cabin had a bed with a deep rut - not a pleasant night's sleep. The bathroom was decent sized except they wedged a shelving unit in between the sink and the toilet requiring you to sit sideways on the toilet - someone in the engineering department is not a rocket-scientist.

Service was generally good. Initially the front desk had a kid there flirting with the girl working at the desk. It was like an 80s teen-love movie - but someone shooed him away and the the other employees were fine. The food servers were excellent. The food was also good - country menu but well-executed.

Will you enjoy it - that depends on why you are there. It's quiet and remote. Lots of winding roads to arrive. I don't recommend trying to arrive after dark. There is golf, a spa ... and not much else. You can go for a walk or a hike. You can sit on a rocking chair ... if that's what you seek you will be happy. If not, seek opportunities elsewhere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your viewpoint. Your comments were well balanced and addressed both reasons as to why we say “We are not for everyone”. If one wants to reconnect with family and friends, not expect granite counters, entertain themselves through a myriad of outdoor activities and enjoy quiet evenings in the mountains we believe you have found the right location. If you require the alternative we will be happy to give you the names of other locations that provide that type of experience.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    43
    16
    13
    14
See reviews for
104
51
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Inn. I have been four or five times in the last 12 years. Every time I go, I note that nothing has changed. I enjoy sitting on the porch watching the birds before breakfast while drinking a cup of coffee. I like the fire in the fireplace in the morning. I love the food. If one is ever hungry, they are doing something wrong. After a great breakfast, I like to hike. I always hike to the summit of Chimney Top. I sit atop the mountain savoring the view and the sense of accomplishment. After a great lunch, I enjoy sitting on the porch overlooking the lake. It's a sense of slowness, of sameness, of solitude. By the end of the week, I am refreshed and about 2 pounds heavier. My compliments to the chef. The desserts are made on site and scrumptious.
I stayed with my wife and my mother and father-in law. We all had a very good time. And Highlands is only about 15 minutes away when we're in a "shop 'til you drop" mood.
Please don't change, don't modernize, don't become just another Inn. High Hampton is perfect just the way it is.
Rick Munt

Room Tip: I like to stay in the Inn on the second floor near the porch. I've never tried a cabin. Always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We strive to stay the same and if there are changes needed we also strive to make them very subtle. We appreciate comments such as your and the many before you! Thank you and we hope to keep this gem alive and well for future generations.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went to an off season weekend visit to the HIgh Hampton Inn shortly after Labor Day. "We" was my wife and I, a teenage daughter and preteen son. We shared a room with a queen and two twin beds. We had plenty of room since we had a large front porch with rocking chairs and were not there to stay indoors. The bathroom was smaller and clean. This is not a granite counter top place. It is old school and you need to know that going in. Its a classic. It is a comfortable old shoe, a pure breed golden retriever, not a cockerdoodle. Chocolate ice cream without caramel and sea salt.

Beds and linens were comfortable. There is a ceiling fan, no air conditioning and none was needed. Same for the main dining room. Large old wooden lobby with fireplaces. There's a TV but there are not flatscreen TVs on every wall. Oh, BTW there are no TVs or telephones in the rooms either! This is an old time mountain vacation.

Accordingly we went hiking, canoeing, fishing, played tennis and ate. The food is great. Nothing fancy - fried chicken on Sunday. Good choices. You have your own table throughout your stay. The Tavern down below was full of sport coats and dresses watching SEC football during happy hour. Which reminds me, coat and tie at dinner. Collared shirts at other times. They spell this all out in their literature. If you don't like this, don't come. They might close rather than change. But its not stuffy. Its friendly, just old fashioned. The crowd is, as you would expect older, but there were twenty somethings there for a wedding and young families who probably swam in the lake when they were 5. People no doubt come back here year after year, and why not? Oh and there is golf. Coudn't comment on the course, but the surroundings are beautiful so who cares if you lose your ball in the reeds by the shore. Bring a book. Play bingo in the lobby. Have an old fashioned vacation or don't if that's not your thing. Know yourself or take time to again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacTraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your posting. We really appreciated your comment” It is old school and you need to know that going in. Its a classic. It is a comfortable old shoe, a pure breed golden retriever, not a cockerdoodle. Chocolate ice cream without caramel and sea salt”. You described us well and you clearly get what we strive to be. Please return often! Thank you, Thank you!
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have been staying with High Hampton Inn for the past 10 or so years. We love the laid back approach. The Golf Course is fun (inexpensive) and the meals are great here. The place is very rustic, but that is what makes it so enjoyable. One time while staying there I saw Andre Agassi.

The cabins make for a better stay if you can get one, but the Inn is very nice. The most beautiful view is off the second floor of the inn. It overlooks the lake and the rock face mountain is in the back. Ask and they will direct you. This secret place is the best to relax with a beverage after dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sam13010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the time you took to write. We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you return often. We will hold a cabin for you and a special seat on the second floor porch!
Appreciatively,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I were recently guests of your lovely Inn. It was my husbands 46yr-high school reunion from St. Petersburg High School, St.Petersburg, Florida. Many of his classmates have moved to the surrounding mountains.
I must say that it took us a little while to get use to no air conditioning, but it was cool enough at night to sleep comfortably and the window fan was great for drowning out the noises of the great out doors that we are not use to these days. The absence of a TV was wonderful; but you just have to do something about the lighting in the rooms for us oldies that are sight impaired. :)
The food was very good and the service staff courteous and attentive.
The coat and tie thing is a great idea, but I do think that maybe it would be just as nice to have the guys wear either a shirt and tie, (no jacket), or a collared shirt and blazer, (no tie). Think about it. Anyway, a great time was had by all. We are looking at you for our family gathering in 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was great having your reunion here and it appeared that everyone had a great time and enjoyed reconnecting. We believe that our property is perfect for special occasions such as yours. We hope that you will return again and plan a repeat of this year’s event.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were first time visitors, brought out two small dogs. There are a limited number of "pet friendly" rooms and if our experience is typical they are small, dark, not rustic but shabby, very hot and somewhat damp with no air conditioning and minuscule bathrooms.
I asked the woman at the front desk of the reason our cabin was so dark and dank was because the dog friendly rooms were the worst ones, she hemed and hawed but basically said yes.

Setting is lovely, food was fairly good and staff is pleasant but it is not my idea of a high end vacation to have my husband have to get two window fans out of our room closet and set them up at 2am so we could sleep. We feel like we have never spent money to be so uncomfortable.
Town of highlands which we discovered on our last day is much nicer and "yes Virginia" you do need air conditioning in NC in August.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bette611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Oh my goodness this is disappointing to read. By reading this we are not certain what cabin you stayed in but would like to think that if your particular room needed more lighting than we would have gotten that straight away for you. Dampness has touched the property due to the 80 plus inches of rain we have gotten this year. Fortunately, it is now beginning to dry out. In regards to our pet friendly policy we consider ourselves quite pet friendly. Nearly, 30% of our rooms are considered “pet friendly” and we make exceptions all the time. We take a position that people’s pets are an extension of their family and we strive to treat them that way and encourage those who want to travel with their pets to do so. We appreciate the time you took to write and clearly are disappointed in your review. We hope that in the event we have an opportunity to have you visit us again you introduce yourself so that we may show our hospitality in a manner that you will appreciate.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our first visit to the High Hampton Inn - which seemed to put us in the minority since it appears that majority of the folks there had been coming for many years. So this is a review from a fresh perspective. HHI is very family oriented and we will likely return with more of our family. There is a wealth of activities for everyone. We enjoyed swimming in the lake, kayaking in the lake, and hiking the trails, some of which are quite strenuous. The most surprising feature was the food (we were on the full American plan). At your first meal you are assigned a table and that is your table for the entire stay. The food is served buffet style and is quite good. But the wait service was outstanding. The personal service at the meals was better than at the majority of restaurants we have visited. The wait staff were extremely friendly and after a day or so remembered our preferences. They really made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Sometimes the lower section of a cabin can be noisy if there are rambunctious kids above you - the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are very thankful that you found us and enjoyed your first trip. We hope there will be many more vacations and your family will continue to enjoy these mountains. We are appreciative of your comments regarding the food and staff. Thank you for the time you took to write.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashiers
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
7.6 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
172 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
7.4 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Hampton Inn & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Hampton Inn & Country Club

Property: High Hampton Inn & Country Club
Address: 1525 Highway 107 S, Cashiers, NC 28717-4518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A southern version of the famous Great Camps of the Adirondacks, historic High Hampton Inn is located on a 1,400-acre estate in Cashiers, NC. This full-service resort has a focus on the great outdoors and takes advantage of the natural setting. A sumptuous Spa, 18-hole George W. Cobb-designed golf course, miles of hiking trails and a 35-acre lake for canoeing, kayaking, swimming and fishing make it easy to take in all that this scenic area offers. The historic inn exudes a rustic mountain atmosphere with cedar shingles, stone fireplaces and handmade twig and mountain-crafted furnishings. Meals are events in themselves with three bountiful buffets served daily featuring high-country favorites like Fried Chicken, Mountain Trout and local produce. A choice of lodge rooms, cottages, and cabins (all with private bath) make High Hampton the perfect place for individuals or groups of friends and family to gather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High Hampton Inn And Country Club
High Hampton Inn & Country Club Hotel Cashiers
Hampton Inn Cashiers
Cashiers Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing