We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Hampton Resort
Nearby Hotels
$109
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
200 Main(Highlands)(Great Value!)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park On Main Hotel(Highlands)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.(Highlands)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Franklin(Franklin)(Great Value!)
$94
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Franklin)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laurelwood Inn(Cashiers)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
132
52
18
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
52
18
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursethe main lodgethe wait staffrock mountaindress codebuffet stylehiking trailseach mealcoat and tieyear after yearair conditioningevery summerpaddle boatsget awayfamily gatheringextended familyold school
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 231 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

High Hampton is blessed with a picture perfect setting. Our family loved not having computers, TV's and media everywhere. We also liked the tradition of dressing for dinner. Our only complaint is that the rooms need to be cleaned more thoroughly and are in dire need of redecorating and lighting.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your review and comments. We are glad that you appreciate the tranquility of this property. You might also appreciate that we are indeed looking into the rooms lighting needs. Over the years guests have moved lights for their particular needs causing darkness in other areas. A complete lighting review is underway. Thank you again and we hope that you visit soon.

Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Retro, rustic, and relaxing in a country paced atmosphere. We have been here several times in the past. The beds are comfortable, the cottages are great, with fireplaces. We stayed in Hampton, a two bedroom with a joint living room cottage. The Inn was built in the the early 1920's, has no phones (some spotty cel reception), air conditioning or TV's in the rooms-on purpose. Shockingly there is wi-fi in the lodge lobby. Meals buffet style are on the American Plan, afternoon tea, and milk and cookies after supper. Our favorite was prime rib and mango shrimp. The inn is surrounded by a golf course, a few tennis courts, 10-15 cabins, a honeymoon suite and two floors of rooms in the inn. There is a good bar, deli at the pro shop, a lake, hiking trails on a 1400 acre estate. It has a family atmosphere. If you want to unplug and recharge check website.

Room Tip: We have stayed in H
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atlantaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your excellent description of our resort. We hope that you return often and take advantage of this rare gem in this heavenly location.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I had to write after reading some of the very unfair reviews posted. If you want all the electronic amenities in the mountains, go to aHilton in Asheville.
We come here because our cells don't work, we leave our computers at home and our kids can't watch cartoons in room.

They run, they make friends, they jump in lake
We read, meet new people
As a family, we sit down to dinner together. We dress up as required for dinner and we appreciate that

MY complaint is that there is Wifi in lobby and now people are sitting in there on their IPads.....and the tv in lobby

Leave it in the bar for the football addicts

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nonameavaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your review and input. We do take pride that we offer a product/experience where time is spent in a wholesome environment and “recharging” is the order of the day. That is what we have done for 90 years and the tradition and values will continue.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had our wedding reception at High Hampton Inn on August 11, 2012, and it was nothing short of perfeciont!! It was a destination wedding so the planning was done from states away, and the staff were so helpful with helping block and book rooms and made sure we all had exactly what we needed. The receptionists were so sweet and helpful as well. We couldn't have asked for more kind and generous people to help guide us through this experience. Caroline was amazing and made the whole thing run smoothly. The lake was a perfect place to visit and let all of the kids (and adults) play. The food was wonderful at the reception and at breakfast. We couldn't have asked for a more polite staff, and they made us all feel so welcome and special! The fact that there was no AC was NO PROBLEM AT ALL even for the hot natured people in the group....all of the guests were pleasantly surprised! Many are planning on coming back next year!! I know that trip advisor can seem confusing with contrasting reports about the same place the same weekend...but I would disregard any negative comments about this place. It really is amazing the feeling of family that is there. Thank you thank you thank you for such a wonderful weekend!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AWest811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

We appreciate your words and certainly remember that beautiful event you had here. Caroline was thrilled to be able to ensure your celebration was the very best it could possibly be and the rest of the staff wanted your arrival and entire stay to go very smoothly. Yes, traditions start and continue here at High Hampton Inn.

We also would like agree with your comments regarding Trip Advisor sometimes being confusing. Be that as it may, the important thing is your day/weekend with family and friends will be remembered fondly for a lifetime. We appreciate the time you took to write and share your experience. Thank YOU so very much.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

First and foremost- young girl (receptionist) was VERY disrespectful and outright RUDE!! We brought along our puppy and while walking up to the room, we were told pets were not aloud in the lodge. I questioned this bc the website and the 2nd party who booked the room told us this place was pet friendly... she rudely stated that she was not aloud in the lodge where our room was located and for us to take her outside immediately. I was upset but we decided to let her stay with a friend at a different location then without our pet we re-entered the lodge. The receptionsit met us before we went to leave the lodge and accused us of "sneaking" in our pet, called us a liar and informed us that she made her manager aware of the situation, I was baffled!!!! POOR customer service!! There is even more to the situation that is too long to explain via review- but it got WORSE! We will never go back & another couple who were outside asked me if we had an issue w/ our pet & said they had been mislead also and cancled their reservation! There is no a/c & it is WARM so if you are hot natured- be prepared to sweat... the rooms and bthrms are small and plain- no tv, no phone service, no wifi! Not what you would expect for the price! Scenery was pretty, and the gardens thats about it...

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank toottaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

How does management respond politely to a situation that has occurred and is so drastically distorted? We think the best approach is to stay with only the facts.

Yes, we are pet-friendly. Many of our cabins are set up to accommodate our guest’s pets. However, we do not allow them in the Main Inn wherein the lobby and dining room are located. Health codes do not permit pets within these restricted areas (service dogs excluded).

The receptionist that was referenced was helping a guest at the time of this exchange, and when she saw the dog, she politely went over to explain the policy regarding pets. She additionally extended an invitation to have them see our kennels and offered those as a choice. The guest exited the lobby to return several moments later. The receptionist on a second occasion asked her if she wanted to have someone take them to see the kennels. That apparently was not what the guest wanted to hear. Profanity was hurled at the receptionist and overheard and witnessed by a coworker and guests checking in. No one was called a liar, no one was rude and actually the receptionist handled the situation as best as one can when they are being verbally accosted.

We are sorry for the incident, the guest’s impression of our resort and our accused receptionist who was simply following our policies.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews