We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as usual”

The Gamekeeper's Tavern
Ranked #14 of 34 Restaurants in Cashiers
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good as usual”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Ate dinner at The Tavern this past Saturday night. We sat at the bar and really enjoyed the atmosphere. I had the catch of the day and it was very good. Everyone in our party liked their food, particularly the scallops. This place is a must visit if in Cashiers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buzzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    56
    24
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Gem in Cashiers”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Food is top notch, for foodies and wine lovers. There is definitely a local game theme, and you will usually find local trout and an occasional exotic animal or two on the menu. Not everything is game and you can find steak, lamb, shrimp and other typical menu items as well. Everything is excellent, but personally the greek nachos are a favorite. Flavors are simple but perfectly matched. Not an inexpensive meal, but not much in this area is. Totally worth it. Great atmosphere in main room, has a nice bar area with TVs and new patio with fireplace. There is a kids menu, but I have not seem many kids there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank IRB12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Non satisfactory service”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Four of stopped in for lunch July 18/14. . Ordered coffee. She brought our coffee cups, but put the pot of coffee on the empty table next to us and left. After 5 minutes we asked the hostess if we had to serve ourselves from the coffee pot. She contacted our server and she finally pressed and poured the coffee. ($4.00) per. We got our food. I ordered the Tortilla soup. I sent it back, it was a least 2 days old. The rest of our food was very good. French dip sandwiches, and Tuscan chicken sandwich. Unfortunately, the server never cleared our table after we ate and she brought our checks and the dishes filled the space on the table so we had nowhere to sign the bill. She still didn't lift a plate. My sister finally mentioned something to the hostess. She said she would say something to our server.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peachycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cozy cuisine”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed dinner on the expansive porch on a lovely summer evening. The staff was friendly and the food was great.

We has grilled Caesar salads (one with chicken, one with shrimp) and the pheasant. All were good portions, but not as large as one might expect.

The dress code varied widely, ranging from families in jeans and flip flops to ladies in casual cocktail attire (a few sequins, satin pants) with husbands in khakis and button downs.

There was a lively wine tasting going on in the retail area, but we did not partake. Looked like fun and they were very welcoming as we walked through.

Would gladly go back when in the area again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Food and Service were Excellent”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We visited the restaurant on the Sunday evening after July 4th and found the food and service to be top notch. The cocktails were "pricey" - a Patron margarita was $13 (small glass). My husband and I both selected the scallop entrée and loved them. I asked to leave off the garlic mash and substituted the coleslaw (low carb diet to watch blood sugar). The veggies were fresh and tasty. My husband totally loved the charred romaine salad. He is going to try it at home next time we grill steaks!! The parmesan crisp that comes with the salad will be beyond our ability but we might can char some romaine!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gamekeeper's Tavern also viewed

 
Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to The Gamekeeper's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing