We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service”

The Gamekeeper's Tavern
Ranked #14 of 34 Restaurants in Cashiers
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sapphire, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you would like to enjoy good venison, elk, bison, quail, or even kangaroo, prepared in interesting ways, try The Gamekeeper's Tavern. The fresh fish of the day could be a surprise that you don't see everywhere. There are less adventurous choices for those who don't care for wild game. The ingredients are fresh, often seasonal, and organic when practical. With a full bar, choice wine list, an unusual selection of beers and ales, you are in for a nice dinner experience. The dining room has an enjoyable ambiance, or you can dine in the bar with silent TV sports, mellow classic rock in the background, or live music some nights.

In appetizers and first courses, you have choices ranging all the way from heavy to light; try the tuna tataki or the grilled caesar salad, bacon-wrapped quail, a unique preparation of shrimp and organic grits, or a salad of fresh greens with roasted beets, goat cheese, and candied walnuts.

Matt, the owner-manager, is a congenial host; the bartenders, James, Heather, and Sarah Diana, are friendly and will remember you, besides giving great beverage service. If you eat at the bar, your food may be brought from the kitchen by cheerful Libby, who takes good care of you. The wait staff in the main dining room are all very professional without being stuffy.

If I had a complaint about the menu, it would be the same complaint I have at 99% of the restaurants I've ever visited. I know my tastes are different, but the times are changing and there are more people like me. I want my dinner plate to be full of fresh vegetables, not just garnished with a few. Depending on the dish, The Gamekeeper's Tavern may be a bit better than most when it comes to vegetable portions.

All in all I give it four stars, but my four may be most people's five. You will enjoy a great meal and have a good time, whether you're alone, with friends and family, or reserving for a large group, and you'll want to visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waybald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, Owner at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to write such a splendid review. We do want you to know that we have added several more gluten free and vegetarian options since you last dined with us. We are now featuring a chef inspired vegetable plate. You let us know your likes and dislikes and or your specific dietary needs and the chefs will prepare a special plate in the moment just for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    56
    24
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprising find of the week!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to the gamekeepers tavern. Based on the name and look of the exterior, we were expecting more of a sports bar atmosphere. However, it is anything but that. The interior is upscale and the food is phenomenal!! Well worth the trip!!

Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, General Manager at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We hope to see you again soon. If we can do anything to make your time with us more comfortable just let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashiers, North Carolina
1 review
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Went last night with family,had great food and service.Also the dining room is large and you can carry one conversation without hearing everyone else.We highly encourage you to check em out.The menu is quite interesting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cfromc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, General Manager at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks for stopping in. We look forward to seeing you next time and appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you think. If we can do anything to make your time with us more special just let our team know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat...”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is by far my favorite restaurant. We found Gamekeeper's Tavern last December while going to Cashiers to get our Christmas tree. We instantly fell in love with the place. In fact we liked the food so much, we never realized there was a back to the menu. Since then, we've gone there three times and try to regularly make trips up to Cashiers to hit up the Gamekeeper's Tavern. We've gotten the elk, the quail appetizer, and much more. We recently went there for their annual Halloween party and it was a blast. Plus they make some of the best martinis. I always have to order the Blood Orange Martini. But try to make sure you have a reservation. They are usually busy especially during the summer. So if you like rustic decor, great service, and original dishes, you got to try the Gamekeeper's Tavern.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, Owner at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We very much appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you think. We hope to see you again next year for our 5th annual Halloween bash. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thanks,

GK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapphire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unhappy”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Recently we had dinner at this "tavern". We had dinner there before on several occasions and we enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. However, on this most recent visit we were very disappointed. We should probably have been alerted when one of the staff referred to the "cook" and no mention was made of a chef. One of us ordered chicken saltimbocca; the wait time was very long even though there were very few customers. The "cook" apparently had no idea what chicken saltimbocca was. We got a chicken breast and a thigh! One of us ordered a hamburger medium - it was quite rare except for a thin outer burned layer. It looks like under qualified staff is being used in the kitchen during off peak times. This is not the way to keep customers coming back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JCL09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gamekeeper's Tavern also viewed

 
Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to The Gamekeeper's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing