We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rehearsal dinner experience!!!!!”

The Gamekeeper's Tavern
Ranked #16 of 34 Restaurants in Cashiers
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We just returned from Cashiers, NC where our son was getting married. We prearranged to have the rehearsal dinner at the Gamekeeper's Tavern. Leigh Coggins helped us with every step of the process by sending menus for food and alcohol and giving us suggestions along the way. They even had our favorite vodka for us. We arrived in town a few days before the ceremony and had a lovely dinner on their outside area. The food was delicious, service great and scenery gorgeous.

On the evening of the rehearsal dinner, the fireplaces were lit, bar well stocked and there were numerous waiters/waitresses. We even were able to bring a slideshow to play on the TVs in the dining room and bar area. The evening started with an hour long cocktail hour with passed appetizers: Chicken Satay, Wrapped Mozzarella Balls, Artichoke Brushetta and a cheese/vegetable tray. All were delicious and there was enough for everyone to have as much as they wanted. We used the bar area and the outside area for the cocktail hour which was perfect. The dining room was warm and inviting and comfortably held all 90 of us. Dinner included grilled Caesar salad, Chicken a la Cali, Sliced Beef Tenderloin, Carolina Plantation Rice and green beans. They even made 2 vegan meals for several of our guests. Dessert was white chocolate bread pudding and berry cobbler with ice cream. The food and dessert was scrumptious.

We had the restaurant for the entire evening (6 pm to 2 am). For the service we had plus the delicious food and great alcohol, we would have expected the bill to be over the top but it was very reasonable.

Anyone who is planning a wedding in the Cashiers area should consider Gamekeeper's Tavern for the rehearsal dinner, reception or for just a wonderful dinner experience. Thanks to all who made it a memorable evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lrcruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, Owner at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

We are so glad we where able to help make such a special time that much more special. We very much enjoyed having you and your guests join us and wish you many years of happiness, Thanks to all of you for being so much fun to work with.

Thanks,

GK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 240 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

The staff was very accommodating with changing our reservations from Saturday @ 7:45pm to Friday @ 8:00pm. (This call was made on Friday at 10:00am, a message was left and a returned call received by us at 2:00 while hiking to a waterfall)

Our party of 6 requested, and we were seated at a high top table on the patio where the music was playing. We were celebrating a birthday and the musician played the "Happy Birthday" song as our waitress brought out a ice cream sundae with a candle on it. (we shared the sundae, which was delicious!)
Wine: excellent choices
Starter: quail legs - yummy
Salads: fresh and filling
Entrees: Bison Ribs, Veal, Lobster Mac. and Strip Steaks. - no complaints with any of them
The sides were fresh and tasty. Presentation Excellent!

If you are looking for "the mountain food experience" The Gamekeepers Tavern is a good choice. Remember, you are there for the experience of well prepared food & drink so relax & enjoy! ✌

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAM5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, Owner at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thanks so much for all of your feedback. We hope to share a special Birthday with you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Food and service were excellent as always. Wine list is extensive as well as the beer list. Definitely try their sundae.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travelinghappyinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, General Manager at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for taking the time to let us know what you think.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Food was excellent service not so. Virtually ignored. Even went to bar after dinner and was never waited on even though bar was empty left after 15 minutes of being ignored

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, Owner at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are not sure what happened to you that evening, but can assure you this is not acceptable. We pride ourselves on having some of the most well trained and knowledgeable service staff you will find anywhere. We hope you come back and see us again as this is not at all the type of experience that we are wanting to provide.

Thanks,

GK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in sapphire valley for 5 days and this was our splurge night. They have a lovely, large outdoor covered deck in the back with a nice fireplace and tv. The outdoor tables were small, but we were able to enjoy dinner here with our 2 small children. They were even prepared for us with crayons and coloring books! We had great service that was friendly and helpful. The wines by the glass are expensive and limited, but I was able to find something ($15/glass) with the help of our server. Our kids had the biggest grilled cheese on foccacia you have ever seen. A bargain at $6 with HUGE potato wedges, but a bit much for a two year old. I enjoyed the delicious fish special that was recommended by our server. An excellent choice. My husband had the $50 mixed grill of duck, antelope and kangaroo. It was good (especially the kangaroo), but slim portions and hardly worth its pricetag. My biggest complaint would be the only available vegetable side was wax beans. I realize it's 'farm to table' and super fresh, but an alternative choice would have been nice at these prices.

Overall, I would recommend The Gamekeeper's Tavern for a unique dining experience. We would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tripnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, Owner at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you again soon. If we can do anything to make your time with us more enjoyable just let us know.

Mat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gamekeeper's Tavern also viewed

 
Cashiers, Jackson County
 
Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to The Gamekeeper's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing