We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine list”

The Gamekeeper's Tavern
Ranked #15 of 34 Restaurants in Cashiers
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Meat selections unique and expertly prepared. One of our group ate the kangaroo and loved it. We enjoyed a great bottle of wine from the fabulous wine list. Nice atmosphere though it was a little too warm to enjoy the outdoor dining area.

Thank queen of belize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, Manager at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit and thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoguhts.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 173 of 240 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

The staff and the management are quite stuffy, but the food and the atmosphere is great. Very pricy menu, but worthy for a fine-dining experience.

Thank RidiculousComments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, Manager at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We thank you for your feedback and hope that you will return again soon. It is always our goal to provide total guest satisfaction. We hope to serve you soon.

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

very poor service, when we walked in the maitre d' Matt gave us a look like we did not belong there he asked us if we were members; we are new to the area we did not know anything about a membership; come to find out it is $1 membership; you would thing you were going to a very prestigious club by the way he looked at us. you would think we were in Palm Beach.
He said he had 1 table by the bar we were the only occupied table in the bar.
We have spoken to other people and it seems that is the way they treat people not the norm for the area.
the waiters were not very attentive either.
I gave it four stars because of the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DianaSanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, Manager at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

It is never the Gamekeeper's goal for anyone to have a sub-par experience. We strive for total guest satisfaction. We do however have a membership as it is the law and it allows us to serve alcohol. We do not mean for this to put anyone out or make anyone feel less special. We are simply following state law. We are sorry you feel this way and hope you will dine with us again soon.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

These are just some of the entrees that are available at Gamekeeper's. We drove by it and could smell the aroma of the meats wafting through the air and were hooked. We said, "we have to go there for dinner tonight". We googled the restaurant's name and saw the menu and knew that there was no other choice for dinner. You need to make reservations, but the dress is casual to dressy, your choice. The interior makes you feel like you are in a movie set for a fine mountain dining experience. And the staff was so pleasant and attentive, if I could give them a rating of more than 5 stars, I'd give them a ten. We had the beet salad for starters and could not get over how delicious it was. It had red and yellow beets, drunken goat cheese, sweet nuts, and a house balsamic dressing that was perfect. Nice 6 slice loaf of warm bread. Then the entrees. We had kangaroo with sweet potatoes and kernel corn with parsley; also the bison brisket with the same sides. We did not order any drinks, but preferred to have the "house" water which is served from a large bottle that stays at the table so that you can refill your glass when you need it. Our meal was $ 62 before tip, which would be the average for two dinners. This was the best meal we had during our stay. I challenge anyone to find a better restaurant in the area !! We were only at our condo for 3 days, but next year when we return, we will have The Gamekeeper's Tavern on our list for 2 evenings!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank THOMAS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, Manager at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We are here to serve you and if we can do something to better your experience just let us know.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a busy place...reservations are a must...they try to fit too many people in on the weekends. The food was fine...not outstanding, but beware of the wine rip off. They offer you a fine wine for a taste, a half glass or a full glass. we choose a half glass, when it arrived it was hardly a taste...not much more than a single sip. When we complained we were told that the pour was correct. For $21 I certainly expected at least a full half glass.

Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKTavern, Manager at The Gamekeeper's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

The Gamekeeper's never wants anyone to feel that they are not getting a great value. We have added a Napa Technologies Wine Station so that we might offer twelve new extremely high end selections by the glass (6oz) the half glass (3oz) or a taste one once. The machine is calibrated daily and hand check several times a night. We only serve these wines in the finest Riedel crystal avaliable, some of the glasses are large enough to hold an entire glass of wine. We apologize if you were not happy with our latest addition as we have added this to give our guests a better dinning experience and more value. We also have many selections our Wine Stewards can help you with that do not come from our Wine Station. We appreciate your feedback and hope that everyone gets a chance to experience the excitement of our new Wine Station.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gamekeeper's Tavern also viewed

 
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to The Gamekeeper's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing