We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Food, Poor Service”

Cornucopia Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Cashiers
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Solid Food, Poor Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

If there were an option, I would have given this place 3.5 stars. The ambience is nice. Most of the restaurant tables are on this great outside covered porch. It's casual and friendly. The food is fresh. They provide a solid range of items from salads, to sandwiches, to dinner entrees. I had the Wade Hampton's Downfall with sweet potato fries - a good choice. My mother and my aunt both had the trout. They liked it, but thought it was extremely salty. They aren't prone to complaining, so I would be wary if you aren't really into salt.

The only real downside of this restaurant is the service. The waiters are nice but they are generally young and seem to have almost no idea what they are doing. We really had to work to get menus, silverware, drink refills, you name it. The poor service didn't seem to be unique to our table - but endemic to the restaurant. I'm not sure if Cornucopia has a manager, but if they have one, he or she is terrible or not paying attention and if they don't, they need one. The bad service really distracted from what otherwise was a pleasant experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amelia263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    130
    66
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Used to be the place to go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

They changed the restaurant appearance and it looks good. However, they just don't know how to run the restaurant correctly. We had to wait over 45 minutes for our food. Yes, it was busy but never had this problem before. The food was terrible - for all 8 of us. We always look forward to going to this restaurant in Cashiers every summer. This last visit was our last time. At night the menu is different and the wine prices average around 50+ dollars. Which is fine if you are at nicer style restaurant. This place is a casual hangout spot. Never once did someone come and apologize for anything. You can tell the person in charge was just walking around and attempting to look busy. Pick up a plate and help your fellow employees.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashiers
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cashiers or Gatlinburg ?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The new owners tried "Cashiers" and it was great - gourmet food, beautiful bar setting, great wine list, and attentive waitstaff. The tourists (and many locals) wanted Gatlinburg-style back and now they have it. Sad disappointment. Great lunch spot though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AB W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashiers, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lost its appeal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

When the owners took over (the renting proprietors went to the Randevous, and it is very good), the menu became unappetizing and limited. Their great sandwiches are gone, and after reading the menu, we left without eating. They need to make some changes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike49009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
396 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great place. Feels like Europe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed many delicious meals here with my friends. I am sorry to learn that the chef is leaving and starting his own place. I wish him luck and hope this quaint place will continue to serve great food

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornucopia Restaurant also viewed

Cashiers, Jackson County
 
Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to Cornucopia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing