We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resting on its laurels”

Cornucopia Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Resting on its laurels”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This used to be a charming place with great fresh lunch food. Now it's just big and overpriced for what you get. My meatless sandwich was tasty but small and came with some chips. A very disappointing plate for $11. The Ruben my husband had was dry, again some chips on the side and $12. Iced tea was $2.25 a glass! After tax and tip we had a $35 lunch that was mediocre at best. Everyone seems to love Cornucoppia and I always did when I used to go to Cashiers. It's been a good while since the last time I was there. I was REALLY looking forward to it and very disappointed. A little fruit or coleslaw on the plate wouldn't kill their profit margin I for those prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakulover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    131
    67
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 979 helpful votes
“Excellent covered porch dining in the mountains...”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

You don't get sweeping views of the mountains, but you do get good food and prompt and attentive service at this local establishment that's been serving locals, seasonals, and weekenders for years. With the healthy expansion of their covered porch a while back, they can now accommodate more diners, and that's a good thing.

A varied menu of sandwiches, platters, ribs, burgers, salads and flavorful entrees, this casual, roadside spot is consistently good. You may find it a tad expensive, but most establishments in the area typically are.... what you do get is a well prepared meal and quite attentive service. They aim to please and can handle substitutions and changes, with ease.

The covered porch fees nice all season, and you dine among friends, whether you've met or not. Particularly nice in the evening after a long day shopping, or on Sunday at lunch, this spot doesn't disappoint. The menu is not so much inspired as it is solid. Sometimes there is quite a wait at peak times, but they'll tell you the wait over the phone, or you can just get on the list. We've found they move efficiently and diners are quick to exit at meal's end.

A solid establishment in Cashiers that has sort of become a tradition. Enjoy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TripTipDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal Season Restaurant”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Always fun to eat here but expect to wait during season. Good news is that you can purchase wine to drink while you wait or with your meal from their wine store. Great location, comfortable outdoor, mountain classic place to go while in Cashiers

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullowhee, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“:I LOVE THIS PLACE & THE FOOD!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My favorites are Fried Green Tomato Sandwich & Coca Cola Ribs! Their other food is great too!!!! I just wish it was open during the winter.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KimmiK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cashiers, nc
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Could not be better!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have had almost every item on their menu and have never been disappointed. The Arabian Club is my favorite-turkey, bacon, black olives, sprouts, pita-how can you go wrong. Bengal Curry Chicken Salad on Pita is supreme. Scott's Black Bean Burger is more than you can eat! Unique atmosphere and reasonable prices. Make sure the check the daily specials! Just wish they could be open through the winter! Perfect!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMANDA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornucopia Restaurant also viewed

Cashiers, Jackson County
 
Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to Cornucopia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing