We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding value - folks who really care”
Review of Laurelwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurelwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Outstanding value - folks who really care”
Reviewed January 14, 2010

This is a rustic-style hideaway with hands-on management who genuinely care about guest satisfaction. It is warm and charming and was copzy on a sub-freezing weekend. There is access to a municipal hiking trail on property and a large charcoal grill with gazebo picnic area. Our large deluxe room was well equipped and had a huge gas fireplace, comfortable reading chairs and a small collection of interesting books worth browsing. I can't imagine a better value for the price. Only suggestion would be to move the ice machine indoors. Ironically it froze up as the temperature dropped to single digit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    35
    13
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
77
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2009

My fiancee and I stayed in Room # 303. It was the BOMB! It has a wonderful gas fireplace and sky lights (with retractable blinds) which really added to our room. The room was clean and modern. The property managers, Eric and Doris, were especially nice and made us feel very welcome. I enjoyed the mountain stream landscaping. The inn was right in the heart of Cashiers. It was only $90 a night and worth every penny. We were in town for two nights for a wedding. My brother stayed at the High Hampton Inn. He paid double what I paid and his accommodations were not nearly as nice. Ha. Greg Lineberger, Charlotte, N.C.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glineberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2009

How lucky we were that the rain halted our trip!! That is how we found Laurelwood Mountain Inn. It is so quaint and has such a calming effect. It is not a modern hotel and I thank them for that. We will from now on plan on staying here when we travel to western N.C. We are planning a return in the next couple of weeks just to check out this wonderful looking town and look forward to staying here again.

I have already shared this gem with friends and family.

Crusin C

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2009

The Laurelwood Mountain Inn was such a beautiful peaceful getaway. We were there for a conference, but my husband and I have talked about bringing our whole family back there if we are ever in that area. It was surrounded by beautiful waterfalls and although its right in the heart of town, it seemed like we were way up in the blue ridge mountains. The staff is super friendly and incredibly helpful. We would totally recommend this place to any person who wants a romantic getaway as well.

  • Liked — The staff and the scenery. The comfort as well as the location.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsalotWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Laurelwood Mountain Inn is the perfect place for a fun and relaxing family getaway. The rooms and cabins are comfortable and clean and provide a "home away from home" atmosphere. The grounds are beautiful with tall trees and babbling brooks and streams. In the words of the kids, there is a "SWEET" playset with swings and slides that will entertain children for hours. There are nature trails that lead all through the Laurelwood grounds and through Cashiers. Signs point the correct direction and identify special places in the town. Across the street from Laurelwood is a fabulous park with lots of playsets and open space for children to run, play and picnic. Within driving distance from Laurelwood are many beautiful waterfalls that will take your breath away. Laurelwood is by far the best place to stay when wanting a mountain vacation.

  • Liked — The grounds and atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dinaspears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We had a delightful stay at Laurelwood Mountain Inn. Our room had all the amenities of a 5 star hotel, but the grounds and atmosphere make it better than a 5 star hotel. Our favorite thing to do was sit on the porch and listen to the stream right below. The owners of this inn are very hospitable and go the extra mile to ensure a great visit. For a great mountain get-away, there is no better place to stay than Laurelwood Mountain Inn in Cashiers, NC. Tommy and Kay Bindrim

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kbindrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2009

It was like a home away from home. It was one of the most relaxing get-aways our family has ever experienced. The rooms are clean, the grounds quiet, and the people friendly. I got to get my fmaily back there as soon as we possibly can.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank DavisCarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashiers
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
6.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
7.0 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
6.9 mi away
Brook Trout Inn
Brook Trout Inn
#1 of 2 in Sapphire
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurelwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurelwood Inn

Property: Laurelwood Inn
Address: 58 Highway 107 N, P.O. Box 196, Cashiers, NC 28717-5502 (Formerly Laurelwood Mountain Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurelwood Inn has been family owned and operated since 1995. We offer the appeal of a quiet stay at an affordable price. We are located on four privately owned wooded acres in the heart of Cashiers, NC. The Inn has twenty charming rooms, suites and cabins. This soothing retreat, just a short drive from Highlands, NC, captures the hearts of vacationers looking for a quiet spot to kick back and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurelwood Mountain Hotel Cashiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing